Frequency analysis for cylindrical shell

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

chlai

Frequency analysis for cylindrical shell

Post by chlai »

Hi,

I am new in FreeCAD FEM. And I am doing a simple frequency analysis for the cylindrical shell as attached.
Cylindrical_Shell_Frequency_Analysis.FCStd
(254.58 KiB) Downloaded 86 times
The frequency result runs well with thickness t1 = 10 mm. I have some results from Ansys as a reference. The difference between the two is about 2~4% which is acceptable.
result_compare_t10.png
result_compare_t10.png (12.9 KiB) Viewed 4328 times
But I face a problem when the thickness t2 = 1 mm (t1/10). The result from Ansys shows the frequency is about 1/10 from t1 which is consistent with the theory. But in FreeCAD, the result is quite different.
result_compare_t1.png
result_compare_t1.png (14.13 KiB) Viewed 4328 times
I have tried to do a finer mesh and mesh with 1st order elements but the difference is still quite large.

Is there anything I could do to improve the results? Or am I missing anything? Any suggestion is welcome

Thanks in advance for your help

freecad stats:
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27077 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 94e2ce44b45f81e8242d689a8b5448a5863f01a0
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3
Last edited by chlai on Mon Jan 17, 2022 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
NewJoker
Veteran

Re: Frequency analysis for cylindrical shell

Post by NewJoker »

You said that you analyze two cases - with a thickness of 0.01 mm and 0.001 mm. But the file that you attached includes two analyses with a thickness of 10 mm and 1 mm. Maybe that’s the source of the problem.

What are these results actually - eigenvalues ? Wouldn’t it be easier to compare the frequencies?