Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
User avatar
paddle
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:47 pm

Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby paddle » Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:20 am

Goal would be to cut a solid by a plane from the part design workbench. With a tickbox "reverse" to select which side of the solid we want to keep.

See my post here : https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=43125
Piero69
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:22 pm

Re: Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby Piero69 » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:31 pm

yes solidworks style ...
vocx
Posts: 3337
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby vocx » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:38 am

paddle wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:20 am
Goal would be to cut a solid by a plane from the part design workbench...
This essentially exists in the Arch Workbench.

Arch_CutPlane and Arch_CutLine. The latter one was recently implemented.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
paddle
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby paddle » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:23 am

vocx wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:38 am

This essentially exists in the Arch Workbench.

Arch_CutPlane and Arch_CutLine. The latter one was recently implemented.
Looks like it, but I tried it and cannot use it on a body with a datum plane. The button is greyed. I tried to select both plane and solid, then the button ungrey, but nothin happens. Not sure it's suppose to work on solid bodies?
vocx
Posts: 3337
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby vocx » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:01 am

paddle wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:23 am
... Not sure it's suppose to work on solid bodies?
It does work on solid bodies. Arch Walls and structures are solid objects. The problem is that this tool is more designed to be used on "naked" solids, like those created with the Part Workbench or Arch Workbench. If you try to use it inside a PartDesign Body it's going to be a bit tricky because this operation is not a PartDesign Feature, it just does a simple boolean operation.

Moreover, I think PartDesign Planes (datum planes) aren't considered "real" objects that can be used in operations that require a "Shape".

In order to use a datum plane, I'd do this: switch to the Part Workbench, use Part_CreatePrimitives to create a simple plane. Then you should attach that plane (Part_Attachment), or move it, to the position of the datum plane inside the PartDesign Body. Then you can use it with the Arch_CutPlane tool.

When you do the selection, you have to select the entire Body in the tree view, not one of its features. But when selecting the plane, you do have to select one of its faces in the 3D view.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
dxp.dev
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:57 pm

Re: Feature request : Cut tool in the PartDesign workbench.

Postby dxp.dev » Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:21 pm

vocx wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:01 am


In order to use a datum plane, I'd do this: switch to the Part Workbench, use Part_CreatePrimitives to create a simple plane. Then you should attach that plane (Part_Attachment), or move it, to the position of the datum plane inside the PartDesign Body. Then you can use it with the Arch_CutPlane tool.

When you do the selection, you have to select the entire Body in the tree view, not one of its features. But when selecting the plane, you do have to select one of its faces in the 3D view.
Actual workaround:
  • Switch to Arch Workbench

That feature request makes sense since the workaround involves 5 steps in 2 other different WB (3 with part design).

Proposed:
Could it be implemented as a "CutByPlane" button like that? :

  • Select Body
  • Click on "CutByPlane"
  • And if its not a Part_Plan, automatically create one attached to the selected plane
  • Create one body for each resulting piece

Benefits:
That would reduce the steps to selecting 2 objects and click on one button that would be in the Part Design WB, so no switching of WB.

And creating automatically 2 bodies for the resulting pieces would respect the obligation of "one body, one object".
Imperial system makes no sense, go metric ! ! !