[ BUG #7872 ] pocket up to face/up to first create traces and multiple faces

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
Post Reply
Piero69
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Location: Parma - Italy

[ BUG #7872 ] pocket up to face/up to first create traces and multiple faces

Post by Piero69 »

as discussed with @chrisb in https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=73760 i would like to open here this bug about the missing refine (and auto-refine when set in preference as i have) in pocket feature with option up to face/up to first.

it's true that eventual following features refines the model but if for some reasons the cut is compulsory the last feature in the model we get an incorrect outcome with traces and multiple faces. The error spreads also to exported step for example

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 7 Version 6.1 (Build 7601: SP 1)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.31058 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e6c53d8642af36ce7d738ab6058b063ec58e0859
Python 3.8.13, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
Installed mods: 
  * 3DfindIT 1.2.0
  * A2plus 0.4.54b
  * Assembly3 0.11.4
  * Assembly4 0.11.8
  * Behave-Dark-Colors 0.1.1
  * BOLTSFC
  * CurvedShapes 1.0.4
  * Curves 0.6.1
  * dxf_library
  * DynamicData 2.46.0
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * fasteners
  * FCGear
  * freecad.gears 1.0.0
  * ImportNURBS
  * InventorLoader 1.3.0
  * InventorLoader.backup1663313199.3655012
  * invgears 0.1.2
  * lattice2
  * nurbs
  * Render 2022.1.0
  * sheetmetal 0.2.59
  * sheetmetal.backup1663313192.0420823
  * Silk -1321532872.0.0
  * symbols_library
Attachments
Bug Up to face-up to first.FCStd
(19.59 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Bug Up to face-up to first.jpg
Bug Up to face-up to first.jpg (179.49 KiB) Viewed 172 times
Last edited by Piero69 on Thu Nov 24, 2022 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 5697
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: [ BUG ] pocket up to face/up to first create traces and multiple faces

Post by Shalmeneser »

Same problem in 0.20.28611. Is it a new problem or from ever ?

To wake the refine up, it's possible at the end to Pocket an 'outside' face with reversed=on for a null-feature.

(btw, can you clip your pictures ?)
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 4064
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: [ BUG ] pocket up to face/up to first create traces and multiple faces

Post by adrianinsaval »

I don't see the point of creating a new forum topic, instead please create an issue on the GitHub issue tracker
Post Reply