Unnamed out of BaseFeature

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
User avatar
fosselius
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:03 am

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby fosselius » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:23 pm

It was a bad Pokemon joke... shame on me...
abdullah
Posts: 3520
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby abdullah » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:17 pm

I am a little bit rusty. Maybe you can help come up to date.

1. What is the intended use of PDN clone?

2. Is it generally working?

3. If not, what is it missing?
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby triplus » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:32 pm

Here is some info:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25265

P.S. Could be some more work was done on it until then. And the info might be a bit outdated.
abdullah
Posts: 3520
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby abdullah » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:01 pm

So, if i understood it well, it is like Draft clone, but to avoid error messages with the scope.

Then, one use case should be to make a second part base on a first part?
clone_other_part.png
clone_other_part.png (34.4 KiB) Viewed 769 times
noTipToday.FCStd
(22.09 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Here I cloned pocket of Part1 and a body of Part using this clone. However, I get an error on the clone (though it seems to work).

Am I doing something wrong/not intended?

I tried to repeat with Draft clone instead, but them there are lots of exclamation errors with little clue why.

What would it happen if I start using PD Clone in all the cases where I was using Draft Clone? I mean, I gain nothing (except when applying it to PD), but do I lose anything?
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby triplus » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:50 pm

The way i understand it anything "going out of scope" is problematic when it comes to (possible) future Assembly proposal/implementation. Therefore on how PartDesign Clone should work and on why. And things like that. This highly likely will and can only be truly figured out through FreeCAD 0.18 development cycle.

P.S. If PartDesign Clone is "going out of scope" in its current implementation. I could imagine that by itself might represent a potential future Assembly related issue.
abdullah
Posts: 3520
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby abdullah » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:15 pm

I have dedicated to this bug the whole week. I am sorry but I cannot manage to find what exactly is making it behave like this and generate these "Unnamed".

It is so annoying it needs fixing before 0.17 release. However we need a more competent programmer here :(
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby triplus » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:57 pm

One thought i had is where does the "Unnamed" term came from? Is it using default term for a document? And does the Unnamed feature get added at document save or open operation? To me it looks like it gets added on document open operation?
abdullah
Posts: 3520
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby abdullah » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:02 pm

triplus wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:57 pm
One thought i had is where does the "Unnamed" term came from? Is it using default term for a document? And does the Unnamed feature get added at document save or open operation? To me it looks like it gets added on document open operation?
It is added on restoring. It is not there in the file if you uncompress it and look at the xml file.

I have "grep" the whole source code of FreeCAD for "Unnamed". Still I did not manage to find where the problem is generated... :(
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby triplus » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:37 pm

Well at least you are getting some understanding of the PartDesign related code in the process. I do imagine in FreeCAD 0.18 development cycle that could prove to be useful. ;) And we got it narrowed down to opening a document and restoring a BaseFeature.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16104
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Unnamed out of BaseFeature

Postby wmayer » Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:27 pm