How to have bullet points in an error message?

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by Kunda1 »

NormandC wrote: Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:56 pm I don't understand your questions. The code above already produces the degree symbol in the GUI.
It's not producing the degree symbol in Crowdin though.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18587
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by NormandC »

As I said in the Crowdin comments, I think Crowdin is yet again the culprit...
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18587
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by NormandC »

Kunda1 wrote: Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:52 pm Related issue:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... 1366-L1368

Code: Select all

StdCmdViewRotateLeft::StdCmdViewRotateLeft()
  : Command("Std_ViewRotateLeft")
{
    sGroup        = QT_TR_NOOP("Standard-View");
    sMenuText     = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate Left");
    sToolTipText  = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sWhatsThis    = "Std_ViewRotateLeft";
    sStatusTip    = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sPixmap       = "view-rotate-left";
    sAccel        = "Shift+Left";
    eType         = Alter3DView;
}
Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by Kunda1 »

NormandC wrote: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
Crazy-making
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18587
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by NormandC »

It's in the original FreeCAD.ts file.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... D.ts#L6730

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° clockwise</source>
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20242
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Post by wmayer »

Looks like an issue with Qt4. According to the docs QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 instead of QT_TR_NOOP should be used because the string is utf-8 encoded. In Qt5 QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 is marked as deprecated and has the same meaning as QT_TR_NOOP.
Post Reply