How to have bullet points in an error message?

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4090
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:57 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:56 pm
I don't understand your questions. The code above already produces the degree symbol in the GUI.
It's not producing the degree symbol in Crowdin though.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:13 pm

As I said in the Crowdin comments, I think Crowdin is yet again the culprit...
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:52 pm
Related issue:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... 1366-L1368

Code: Select all

StdCmdViewRotateLeft::StdCmdViewRotateLeft()
  : Command("Std_ViewRotateLeft")
{
    sGroup        = QT_TR_NOOP("Standard-View");
    sMenuText     = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate Left");
    sToolTipText  = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sWhatsThis    = "Std_ViewRotateLeft";
    sStatusTip    = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sPixmap       = "view-rotate-left";
    sAccel        = "Shift+Left";
    eType         = Alter3DView;
}
Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4090
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:42 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm
Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
Crazy-making
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:59 pm

It's in the original FreeCAD.ts file.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... D.ts#L6730

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° clockwise</source>
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14068
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby wmayer » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:55 pm

Looks like an issue with Qt4. According to the docs QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 instead of QT_TR_NOOP should be used because the string is utf-8 encoded. In Qt5 QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 is marked as deprecated and has the same meaning as QT_TR_NOOP.