How to have bullet points in an error message?

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:57 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:56 pm
I don't understand your questions. The code above already produces the degree symbol in the GUI.
It's not producing the degree symbol in Crowdin though.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:13 pm

As I said in the Crowdin comments, I think Crowdin is yet again the culprit...
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:52 pm
Related issue:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... 1366-L1368

Code: Select all

StdCmdViewRotateLeft::StdCmdViewRotateLeft()
  : Command("Std_ViewRotateLeft")
{
    sGroup        = QT_TR_NOOP("Standard-View");
    sMenuText     = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate Left");
    sToolTipText  = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sWhatsThis    = "Std_ViewRotateLeft";
    sStatusTip    = QT_TR_NOOP("Rotate the view by 90\xc2\xb0 counter-clockwise");
    sPixmap       = "view-rotate-left";
    sAccel        = "Shift+Left";
    eType         = Alter3DView;
}
Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:42 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm
Here's an odd thing. Look at how the original string looks in a .ts file, and look at the translated string.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... r.ts#L7022

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° counter-clockwise</source>
  <translation>Faire pivoter l'affichage de 90° dans le sens anti-horaire</translation>
Crazy-making
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:59 pm

It's in the original FreeCAD.ts file.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... D.ts#L6730

Code: Select all

 <source>Rotate the view by 90° clockwise</source>
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16874
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: How to have bullet points in an error message?

Postby wmayer » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:55 pm

Looks like an issue with Qt4. According to the docs QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 instead of QT_TR_NOOP should be used because the string is utf-8 encoded. In Qt5 QT_TR_NOOP_UTF8 is marked as deprecated and has the same meaning as QT_TR_NOOP.