Assembly3 preview

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
realthunder
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Assembly3 preview

Postby realthunder » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:55 am

Hello everyone, here is a preview of my brand new Assembly3 workbench. It is a preview because I still haven't got time to test it with any non-toy assembly yet. Consider its complexity, expect to have a bumpy ride if you feel like to have an early adventure. Check out the readme in the repo for detail instructions.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.8.6) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you like to show your support, you can find the donate button at here.
DeepSOIC
Posts: 6077
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby DeepSOIC » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:09 am

The gyroscopic mover and shaker of death is back!!

Jokes aside, WOW :shock: :o
How do I make it work on Win, I wonder...
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 4774
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:30 am

realthunder wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:55 am
Hello everyone, here is a preview of my brand new Assembly3 workbench. It is a preview because I still haven't got time to test it with any non-toy assembly yet. Consider its complexity, expect to have a bumpy ride if you feel like to have an early adventure. Check out the readme in the repo for detail instructions.
Thank you so much for your work. Is it useable with Freecad 0.17?
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 3247
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:22 am

Incredible. Question, could one make an appimage to expedite the effort to test instead of getting it all built?

Edit: pinged @probonopd on gitter https://gitter.im/probonopd/AppImageKit ... 4b5bbc228c to ask for some assistance.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
triplus
Posts: 7467
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby triplus » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:46 am

@realthunder

Can you confirm if you copy/paste this in FreeCAD Python console it works on your side?

Code: Select all

from asm3.assembly import AsmDocumentObserver
P.S. If yes are you sure you don't have any additional environment related "tweaks" enabled on your side? Is there a chance you could do a test on stock Ubuntu 16.04? That is compile your FreeCAD branch (i don't have it installed as after compiling ./bin/FreeCAD is how i run it). And test Assembly 3 module against it? Could be something is borked on my side as i still am experiencing some import issues on my side. As a side effect i do get Assembly 3 toolbar but there is no Constraints toolbar and things like that. On the plus side both SolveSpace and SymPy + SciPy solver backends are imported successfully!
looo
Posts: 2067
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby looo » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:06 pm

Code: Select all

from asm3.assembly import AsmDocumentObserver
I don't think this should work, but it may have worked for some older builds of FreeCAD. ~/.FreeCAD/Mod is definetly not in sys.path for the current FreeCAD master! So please use old style:

Code: Select all

from assembly import AsmDocumentObserver
or port to the new workbench structure:
https://github.com/looooo/Workbench-Starterkit
triplus
Posts: 7467
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby triplus » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:50 pm

As i use the same FreeCAD branch as @realthunder (and likely the same OS - Ubuntu 16.04) we should experience the same issue. I have a hunch @realthunder might have tweaked something to make it work on his side. And as that is not available by default for general testing indeed likely imports will need to change as pointed out by @looo and as mentioned in the previous thread.

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 20#p200351
User avatar
saso
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby saso » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:59 pm

triplus wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:50 pm
As i use the same FreeCAD branch as @realthunder
You have compiled his https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD/tree/LinkStage3 ? It only works with it
looo
Posts: 2067
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby looo » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:33 pm

https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD/ ... it.py#L124
That was part of a previous attempt to solve name-clashes.
realthunder
Posts: 807
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby realthunder » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:12 pm

triplus wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:46 am
@realthunder

Can you confirm if you copy/paste this in FreeCAD Python console it works on your side?

Code: Select all

from asm3.assembly import AsmDocumentObserver
P.S. If yes are you sure you don't have any additional environment related "tweaks" enabled on your side? Is there a chance you could do a test on stock Ubuntu 16.04? That is compile your FreeCAD branch (i don't have it installed as after compiling ./bin/FreeCAD is how i run it). And test Assembly 3 module against it? Could be something is borked on my side as i still am experiencing some import issues on my side. As a side effect i do get Assembly 3 toolbar but there is no Constraints toolbar and things like that. On the plus side both SolveSpace and SymPy + SciPy solver backends are imported successfully!
You are doing exactly the same as I am doing, i.e. running directly from a build directory, with maybe one exception. I put the asm3 module directly in Mod directory of the build directly (well, actually through a symlink), instead of ~/.FreeCAD/Mod. I vaguely remember having some issue putting the module there early development.

Yup, just tried it. It doesn't work in ~/.FreeCAD/Mod. Try Mod in the build directory, it shall work fine there. I'll migrate to the new style for sure, but may take a while, because things at work.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.8.6) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you like to show your support, you can find the donate button at here.