Assembly3 preview

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3621
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby looo » Sun Mar 28, 2021 12:55 pm

@realthunder

should we exclude asm3 from the 0.19.1 release? For now I simply used the 0.19.pre bundles as base and there we have installed some additional addons.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10282
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Mar 28, 2021 4:21 pm

looo wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 12:55 pm
@realthunder

should we exclude asm3 from the 0.19.1 release? For now I simply used the 0.19.pre bundles as base and there we have installed some additional addons.
Isn't the solvespace solver bundled in to asm3 ? If so then there may be a licensing issue since it's GPL2 as it's pre-bundled in FC AppImages. We may need to make asm3 an addon in that case (or make the solvespace solver an addon) ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
edavis
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:44 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby edavis » Tue Mar 30, 2021 12:32 am

This is minor but in the spreadsheet you have to type 'inch'. 'in' does not work but will display if that is what is set to display. 'mm' is ok.
In 19.1 and back 'in' was OK. 'inch is not'

Thanks, Ed

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2021.328.24301 +3441 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkStage3
Hash: 0a157a307c91d241a370cdda6d8f0471b7c48915
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Attachments
test spreadsheet.FCStd
(9.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
realthunder
Posts: 1953
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby realthunder » Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:18 am

looo wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 12:55 pm
@realthunder

should we exclude asm3 from the 0.19.1 release? For now I simply used the 0.19.pre bundles as base and there we have installed some additional addons.
Kunda1 wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 4:21 pm
Isn't the solvespace solver bundled in to asm3 ? If so then there may be a licensing issue since it's GPL2 as it's pre-bundled in FC AppImages. We may need to make asm3 an addon in that case (or make the solvespace solver an addon) ?
Is it possible to install pip package from within FreeCAD now? The SolveSpace solver can be installed through pip.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
realthunder
Posts: 1953
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby realthunder » Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:37 am

edavis wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 12:32 am
This is minor but in the spreadsheet you have to type 'inch'. 'in' does not work but will display if that is what is set to display. 'mm' is ok.
In 19.1 and back 'in' was OK. 'inch is not'
'in' is a reserved keyword in the extended Expression Syntax in my branch. For compatibility with the upstream 0.19, you can use " instead. I'll find a better way for migration later.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
edavis
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:44 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby edavis » Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:54 pm

OK RT. And thank you for the work your doing.

Ed
steve123
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:58 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby steve123 » Sun Apr 04, 2021 3:56 pm

looo wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 12:55 pm
@realthunder

should we exclude asm3 from the 0.19.1 release? For now I simply used the 0.19.pre bundles as base and there we have installed some additional addons.
@looo
Heads up, the "0.19.pre" tag has disappeared from the repo and the link from the downloads page is broken.