Assembly3 preview

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
User avatar
CapGuy
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby CapGuy » Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:49 pm

realthunder wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:02 pm
CapGuy wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 9:30 am
And a question : what is the reason of not including all your excellent work within the official FreeCAD release ?
I saw you tell you are too fast for FreeCAD upstream but I cannot understand why, in an Open Source project like this one, you cannot propose your code actually in the project itself ?
Because for sure your speed and your power of coding could be a very powerful goodness for the whole project.
Coding fast has advantage of getting new features fast, but also the disadvantage of risking for more bugs. I can counter it partially by relying on report by public testers and fixing them fast, but still, not all users (some maybe be other small companies) prefer new feature over stability. Anyway, I'm sure many new features in my branch will get a chance to be landed in the next FreeCAD development cycle.
Thank you very much for your answers.

Yes, I understand this and I agree as I'm also myself a SOHO (say, a very, very small company so with no time left at all), but AFAIK the development branch of the official project stands exactly for this : letting geeks to test bugs and permit developers to obtain stability for the software before to upstream it in the official stable branch... So I continue to wonder why you prefer a fork instead of an advanced developer official branch.
This last solution, for sure, could interest more testers so it could produce a bigger synergy, you don't think so ?

But I speak just in my name, and as a "newcomer" (well, this is the n_th time I try to use FreeCAD for my job) who does not understand why this fork as you are in the core developer team also, and I wish so much to be able to use a productive and efficient FreeCAD Open Source software.

Anyway, thanks for your answers again and yes of course, I'll report bugs on GitHub issues page if I can.

Best Regards,
Guy
May The Force be infinite and beyond !
totalcad
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:09 pm

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby totalcad » Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:27 pm

Kuzma30 wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:05 am
Good day. I'm using the Stage3 branch to import the .step file as Assembly per document in subdirectory. The file contains Russian names for objects. The screenshot shows the result of the import. As you can see, most Russian names are imported correctly, but there are problems with importing the file names of individual parts of the assembly (circled in the screenshot). Can I fix it somehow?
Hi! (zdorova:))!
I think it's related with my question too! I've got the same russian Cirillic issue in Assembly4.. I asked a question here (Sat Oct 10, 2020 2:26 pm ):
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... &start=740

(some video from the post:)
https://yadi.sk/i/ovnkgmCANLgI8Q

Unfortunately, as I understood, it's the "core" FreeCad problem and not a trivial thing.
User avatar
jpg87
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:16 am
Location: Limoges - France
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby jpg87 » Thu Mar 04, 2021 8:06 pm

realthunder wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:02 pm
...
Hello Realthunder,
I discovered some issues in PartDesignLinkBranch.
I pointed them out in this post (but I don't know how to ping from post to post!) :
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=56295

Perhaps you will find a few moments to take a look ...
Thank you in advance.
My website : http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr updated 2021/04/15
User avatar
CapGuy
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby CapGuy » Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:37 am

jpg87 wrote:
Thu Mar 04, 2021 8:06 pm
realthunder wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:02 pm
...
Hello Realthunder,
I discovered some issues in PartDesignLinkBranch.
I pointed them out in this post (but I don't know how to ping from post to post!) :
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=56295

Perhaps you will find a few moments to take a look ...
Thank you in advance.
Hello jpg87,

May I tell you RealThunder already asked me to report bugs on a dedicated page ? :
realthunder wrote: I prefer reporting bug in github issue page (-> https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD_assembly3/issues). Please copy your FreeCAD About information along with the report (Menu Hep -> About -> Copy to clipboard). It will be even better to include a screenshot or screencast if applicable.
So you have now the right address...

BTW I would like to tell you also I just discovered your website about FreeCAD and I would like to thank you for this, as I'll go to study it ASAP ! :-D

Cordially,
Guy
May The Force be infinite and beyond !
User avatar
jpg87
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:16 am
Location: Limoges - France
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby jpg87 » Fri Mar 05, 2021 11:07 am

CapGuy wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:37 am
May I tell you RealThunder already asked me to report bugs on a dedicated page ? :
Hello CapGuy,
I transferred my request!

CapGuy wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:37 am
BTW I would like to tell you also I just discovered your website about FreeCAD and I would like to thank you for this, as I'll go to study it ASAP !
... and thank you for your encouragement.

Cordially,
jpg
My website : http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr updated 2021/04/15
Kuzma30
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby Kuzma30 » Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:36 am

totalcad wrote:
Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:27 pm
Kuzma30 wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:05 am
Good day. I'm using the Stage3 branch to import the .step file as Assembly per document in subdirectory. The file contains Russian names for objects. The screenshot shows the result of the import. As you can see, most Russian names are imported correctly, but there are problems with importing the file names of individual parts of the assembly (circled in the screenshot). Can I fix it somehow?
Hi! (zdorova:))!
I think it's related with my question too! I've got the same russian Cirillic issue in Assembly4.. I asked a question here (Sat Oct 10, 2020 2:26 pm ):
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... &start=740

(some video from the post:)
https://yadi.sk/i/ovnkgmCANLgI8Q

Unfortunately, as I understood, it's the "core" FreeCad problem and not a trivial thing.
This problem is fixed in OCCT 7.5 and in latest Stage3 branch.
Attachments
Безымянный.png
Безымянный.png (273.45 KiB) Viewed 1057 times
User avatar
julierme.silva
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:10 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby julierme.silva » Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:28 am

Hi guys.

I've been studying Assembly 3 for a few months.
I am trying to establish a line of reasoning to memorize the CONSTRAINT ICONS.
The materials I've been using are those from Realthunder and jpg87.
Realthunder link: https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD_ ... o-elements
Jpg87 link: http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr/020_ass_outils_contr.php#

I would like your help to try to define a more efficient line of rationale in this matter.
My mental organization is described in the image below.
Image

You agree?
What can we add more to this table?
How do you metallize the CONSTRAINT ICONS at the time of assembly?
realthunder
Posts: 1950
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby realthunder » Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:43 am

julierme.silva wrote:
Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:28 am
You agree?
What can we add more to this table?
How do you metallize the CONSTRAINT ICONS at the time of assembly?
The dashed line border means the constraint can be used in either 2D or 3D (i.e. it is not exclusive 2D as you listed in the table) depending on whether there is a third projection element.

The green and purple border differs in how those multiple elements are expanded, but all of them are 3D constraints. The purple one has an additional property 'Cascade' to alter the expansion method.

Those constraints without border normal only work in 3D.

The icons may have similar image and appear to differ only in border style, but internally they all have different types (with unique type names), so no special logic required to choose which icon to show in the tree view. BTW, you can dynamically change the type of an existing constraint object, and its tree icon will change with it.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
Kuzma30
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby Kuzma30 » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:25 pm

Trying to make configuration for NEMA23 motor.
I use toSketch WB to make Sketch from .step. Make 3 body of motor's components (Body1, Body2, Body3).
When I try make Assembly I get such error.

Recompute failed! Please check report view.
20:20:27 32.06305 <asm3.gui> gui.py(453): command "asm3CmdSolve" exception
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 625, in report
File "C:\FreeCAD-asm3-Daily-Win64-Py3-Qt5-20210311\Mod\asm3\freecad\asm3\solver.py", line 408, in solve
return _solve(*args,**kargs)
File "C:\FreeCAD-asm3-Daily-Win64-Py3-Qt5-20210311\Mod\asm3\freecad\asm3\solver.py", line 374, in _solve
'Failed to recompute {}'.format(objName(assembly)))
RuntimeError: Failed to recompute NEMA23#Assembly

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2021.311.24301 +3373 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkStage3
Hash: 91ca94db328bf6126c4a01547b6aa2202d876ebc
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: Russian/Russia (ru_RU)
Attachments
NEMA23.FCStd
(246.24 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
jpg87
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:16 am
Location: Limoges - France
Contact:

Re: Assembly3 preview

Postby jpg87 » Wed Mar 17, 2021 4:34 pm

Kuzma30 wrote:
Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:25 pm
Trying to make configuration for NEMA23 motor.
I use toSketch WB to make Sketch from .step. Make 3 body of motor's components (Body1, Body2, Body3).
When I try make Assembly I get such error.
Hello,
Here are my remarks (which only engage me!):
Image pb1:
pb1.jpg
pb1.jpg (89.03 KiB) Viewed 403 times

1- I don't understand what Sketch006 is for. Probably an unused essay?
2- What did you think you would do with the "Boolean" references? For me it is useless.
3- The origin of your problem. See pb2 image below.


Image pb2:
pb2.jpg
pb2.jpg (90.34 KiB) Viewed 403 times

You are using Pocket with the "Up to face" property, but no surface has been designated. If you use the property "Through all" for example the step "Pocket" is constructed normally.
Then Assembly3 has no more problems.

General remarks :
- I don't quite see what the Body3 will be used for. Especially since the sketch has no constraints!
- when I have a piece that has symmetries, I tend to make the most of them.

Maybe you can check my website (address below).
My website : http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr updated 2021/04/15