Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Gibbl
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:34 am

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby Gibbl » Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:02 pm

Hello,

So I'm using FreeCAD recently and got myself on the Asm2plus WB because I want to start with assemblies in FreeCAD.

As far as I understand in Asm2plus you have to convert parts to Asm2plus objetcs but those are static and can't updated via the Update parts function. But Asm2plus objects are needed to work with more complex constraints. Actually I run very early in unconstrained error messages unless I changed the parts into Asm2plus objects. But how are those Asm2plus parts updated? Do I have to re-import them all the time after I did a small change to them? I think I'm missing something here.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2614
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:38 am

Gibbl wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:02 pm
Hello,
Have a look at the wiki

https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
Gibbl
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:34 am

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby Gibbl » Wed Jul 24, 2019 6:10 am

easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:38 am
Gibbl wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:02 pm
Hello,
Have a look at the wiki

https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
Actually, I searched for the problem before, also did an look at the wiki (because often it's the first result), but don't understand this problem yet, sorry!!
dan-miel
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:29 am
Location: Spokane WA. USA

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby dan-miel » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:29 am

Gibbl wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:02 pm
As far as I understand in Asm2plus you have to convert parts to Asm2plus objetcs
I'm not sure what you mean by convert.
I normally create the parts using part or part design WBs and then insert them using the insert button. I have not used the convert button, I think the convert button might be for converting parts from a ASSM2 assembly or perhaps a SAT file.

Gibbl wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:02 pm
but those are static and can't updated via the Update parts function.
When I insert a part file I have often opened the file, made changes and updated the assembly using the update button. The part file must be saved to the disk, apparently the update button reads from the files saved to the disk not the files in memory.
I hope this helps.
Dan Miel
safrican
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:38 pm

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby safrican » Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:49 pm

Greetings, noob here
I just installed the most recent version of FreeCAD (0.18.16131 (Git)), and tried to use the Addons Manager to install A2plus. But, despite downloading and extracting the zip files from Github and extracting to the Mod folder, and despite Addons Manager recognising the A2plus workbench from Github, I cannot get it installed. What have I done wrong?

Apologies if this is the wrong place to post.

Thank you
chrisb
Posts: 17585
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby chrisb » Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:18 pm

Did you restart FreeCAD after installing?
Is a2+ marked as installed in Addonmanager?
herbk
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby herbk » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:39 pm

Hi,
i don`t understand what you are doing...
If you use the Addon Manager, you get it unzipt to the mod folder. More is not to do, restart FreeCAD and A2+ should aper at the end of the workbench list.
But be aware, that A2+ don't work well with FC 0.18, it's made with/for FC 0.19 and some things will not work with 0.18.
Gruß Herbert