Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
jbe
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: France, Châteauroux

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby jbe » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:50 pm

I don't arrive to assembly this two part.
Someone could help me ?
Mur de la lanterne.FCStd
(14.76 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Coupole supérieure.FCStd
(28.42 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
I need an axial constraint, and plane coincident.

It's to do that.

Thank you.
Attachments
Assemblage complet.FCStd
(33.1 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
jbe
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: France, Châteauroux

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby jbe » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:13 pm

Don't worry, I just found the error.
The name of the file was : Coupole supérieur, and when I rename the file as Coupole Superieur, ( no accent on e form superieur), all is correct.
Three hours to find this error ....

Conclusion: No accent in the name of the file for A2plus.

Best regard
jbe
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: France, Châteauroux

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby jbe » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:16 pm

Hello
I would like to know, if is it possible to add an assembly do with A2plus, to a body of Part Design, and then to use this assembly like a part of FreeCAD.
My problem is to do and hole between all the assembly.

Best regard.
assemblage mur et coupole.FCStd
(19.02 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
kbwbe
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby kbwbe » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:34 pm

jbe wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:16 pm
I would like to know, if is it possible to add an assembly do with A2plus, to a body of Part Design, and then to use this assembly like a part of FreeCAD.
My problem is to do and hole between all the assembly.
Hi jbe,
In standard mode this will probably cause problems. A2+ tries to generate solids. But often this is not possible and the resulting assembly will be a shell. If this happens, you cannot do holes through it.

But you can activate the option "use solid union..." in preferences. With this option, all parts are "fused" to a solid and you can use the assembly as base feature for a part design body. Part Design will work as long as there are no gaps between the parts. It requires one continous solid. If Part Design fails due to this, you could work with the Part WB to do your holes.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.29, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorials:
Paul Randall: https://youtu.be/mnkecA9S7kc
anisim (deutsch): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDcaFq6IEJM
Turro75
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby Turro75 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:28 pm

Hi All,

I made a small modification on partslibrary macro, now it runs in my system (details below).

I changed the behavior of double click, now it imports files as a2p objects.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
Attachments
PartsLibrary.FCMacro
(17.09 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1678
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby GlouGlou » Fri Nov 01, 2019 4:03 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to hole 2 parts after their assembly.
I use bodies cloned for do that.
But the second part seems not be an expected behavior: it don't move if I change the first part (the bloc start).
Here my files. Change the BlocDépart 's pocket position to check out that. ;)
...
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18644 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 481870be2b48ef95b59acf1440b069d42b6fad23
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
Attachments
PièceFixée.FCStd
(9.45 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
BlocDépart.FCStd
(14.69 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
assemby_drilled.FCStd
(35.5 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (93.52 KiB) Viewed 441 times
kbwbe
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby kbwbe » Sat Nov 02, 2019 10:32 am

GlouGlou wrote:
Fri Nov 01, 2019 4:03 pm
Hi @GlouGlou,
usually it is no good idea to mix up work with A2plus and other workbenches in one file.

Problem 1 here: After cloning, the clone get's an independent (decoupled) placement of its original. If the original is moved, the clone is not. As the A2plus constraints are only operating at the originals, the clones are not moved accordingly.

Problem 2: I tried to follow your hints and moved the pocket in the block depart. When updating the assembly, the sketches in "body def drill" jumped to false positions. For sure some toponaming issue. See here:
.
test.png
test.png (91.41 KiB) Viewed 366 times
.
It would be better, if you do such a small assembly completey with the PartDesign WB. If you need it later in a bigger assembly, you can import it complete or only single part of it to a main assembly.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.29, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorials:
Paul Randall: https://youtu.be/mnkecA9S7kc
anisim (deutsch): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDcaFq6IEJM
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1678
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby GlouGlou » Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:47 pm

thanks for that. It's a try to modify an assembly afterward. ;)
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=40353
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:52 pm

A2plus Workbench wiki page doesn't have a Scripting section on the wiki. Can we start to document scripting in A2plus ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Another approach to assembly solver (A2plus)

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:52 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:52 pm
A2plus Workbench wiki page doesn't have a Scripting section on the wiki. Can we start to document scripting in A2plus ?
Bump.
Reason: users aren't aware it's possible to animate assemblies. See https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 11#p348308
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features