assembly without solver

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Zolko
Veteran

assembly without solver

Post by Zolko »

Hello,

I'm new here on the forum, but have used FreeCAD since at least v0.15. I'm also a mechanical engineer, and have used — and I'm still using — all main CAD programs out there: Catia V5, SolidWorks, Siemens NX, Pro/Engineer ... and also T-Flex, which is lesser known (its Russian, very very good). I have a very deep knowledge of professional CAD platforms.

While the Parts design workbench in FreeCAD is usable, I think that FreeCAD is absolutely unusable for any CAD work as long as there is no Assembly workbench. I've seen over time efforts to make some Assembly module, but so far none have succeeded. No offence meant, you know what I mean. I'm no programmer therefore I won't be able to code anything better.

One difficulty that you — those who actually do the coding, and I thank-you very much for that — seem to encounter is the solving of constraints. But there is also a way to do assemblies without any constraints ! This is what I'll try to explain here.

The very purpose of an assembly is to link several parts into ... well, an assembly. A higher level of goal is to make this dynamic, in the sense that you can have physical links between the parts. But a lesser goal is to link parts together in a static way, such that the parts are placed where they are placed, parametrically of course or that would defeat FreeCAD's purpose, but fixed.