Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Koemi
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:13 am
Location: The Netherlands

Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Postby Koemi » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:24 am

As you can see in the image below:
- The upper part is from another file, showing the regular way the constraints are shown (no worries there)
- The lower part (red arrow) is 'the problem area'...

When I move a part and click the solve button, parts get back to their position as it should, but it is impossible to change the properties.

1. What has caused this?
2. How can I solve this?

Already tried replacing the fstd1-file to fstd-file, but I get the same results :(

Had to remove some parts to make it possible to attach the assembly.

Image

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
SAM_Stapelbak 1000x800x500.FCStd
(909.96 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Koemi
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:13 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Postby Koemi » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:44 am

About 80 views and a few downloads, but no reply... I guess it is quite rare this happens (which is obviously a good thing).

Fortunately I have not seen it yet in other assemblies I have created.

I am going to redo all constraints to make this assembly functional again. It seems it is the only way to solve this.

Still I am curious what has caused this :?:

The Report view shows:"DeprecationWarning: Use 'TypeId' instead". Twice.
kbwbe
Posts: 860
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Postby kbwbe » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:58 am

Koemi wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:44 am
About 80 views and a few downloads, but no reply... I guess it is quite rare this happens (which is obviously a good thing).

Fortunately I have not seen it yet in other assemblies I have created.

I am going to redo all constraints to make this assembly functional again. It seems it is the only way to solve this.

Still I am curious what has caused this :?:

The Report view shows:"DeprecationWarning: Use 'TypeId' instead". Twice.
Hi Koemi,
it seems that the viewproviders of Assembly 2 have some problems with the broken constraints. (Missing icon, greyed out). Did you mix up assembly WB's during work ? (A2, A2plus) ?
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.27, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorials:
Paul Randall: https://youtu.be/mnkecA9S7kc
anisim (deutsch): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDcaFq6IEJM
Koemi
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:13 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Postby Koemi » Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:26 am

Hi kbwbe,

it could be a mix up... :idea:

I also tried FreeCAD V0.17 and A2Plus, because assembly2 has troubles with circle edge constraints combined with the gas spring inside the assembly. While changing the length of the gas spring (=change piston distance), the angle of the cover should change, but instead it only caused failures (a known problem inside assembly2).

Later on I decided to redraw the gasspring (as it is in my attached file).

But I am sure that the loss of constraints came a few days later after using V0.17 and A2Plus... Maybe it was already 'slumbering' and something else finally triggered it?
kbwbe
Posts: 860
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Assembly2: Constraints lost or not?

Postby kbwbe » Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:38 am

Koemi wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:26 am
But I am sure that the loss of constraints came a few days later after using V0.17 and A2Plus... Maybe it was already 'slumbering' and something else finally triggered it?
I do not think so. It is simply not possible to edit A2 constraints with A2plus and vice versa. FC stores some information about viewproviders in its files. So it remembers somehow with which WB objects where created. This leads to problems if you later open existing files with another WB.

You can try to open the problematic file with A2plus. If the constraints are editable, they where created with it.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.27, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorials:
Paul Randall: https://youtu.be/mnkecA9S7kc
anisim (deutsch): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDcaFq6IEJM