Assembly 4 workbench

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby Zolko » Fri May 29, 2020 10:31 am

learner wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 6:50 am
I have now created a new tutorial to cover this topic:
https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable
Hi, that's really welcome, but ... it seems empty right now, is this correct ?

Also, I see in your screenshot that for the Leg, you have created a Parts group, in which you have added a PD Body, and you do the design in this Body. Since Asm4 v0.9, you can use PD::Body containers directly in an assembly, no need to wrap them inside a Model or a Part. You still can, but don't need to. This is (tentatively) explained in the updated Tutorial 1.
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
learner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 7:59 am

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby learner » Fri May 29, 2020 11:47 pm

Zolko wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 10:31 am
learner wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 6:50 am
I have now created a new tutorial to cover this topic:
https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable
Hi, that's really welcome, but ... it seems empty right now, is this correct ?
Oops - beginner's mistake. :oops: Initial commit now done:
https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable
Zolko wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 10:31 am
... you have created a Parts group, in which you have added a PD Body ... Since Asm4 v0.9, you can use PD::Body containers directly in an assembly...
Thanks. Reading your recent conversation with @drmacro, I wondered if I should simplify the tutorial down to just bodies.
If I want an externally driven design, with dimensions coming from a spreadsheet, can I do it with the simple Body structure, or do I still need a Model? I haven't looked at variables yet.
For my personal use, at this stage I'm looking for best practice with separate files and rapid variants on design. If that requires bodies only, I will simplify.
The subassembly tutorial should probably be the simplest possible structure in any case, to introduce just one topic at a time.
Last edited by learner on Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
learner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 7:59 am

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby learner » Sun May 31, 2020 6:34 am

learner wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 11:47 pm
The subassembly tutorial should probably be the simplest possible structure in any case, to introduce just one topic at a time.
Hi Zolko.
I've simplified the tutorial to use your suggestion of Bodies in the parts.

https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable
TreeSelectLegFootAssembly.png
TreeSelectLegFootAssembly.png (14.43 KiB) Viewed 622 times
AssemblyTableCompleteBonus.png
AssemblyTableCompleteBonus.png (8.16 KiB) Viewed 622 times
Your feedback and suggestions would be most welcome.

Thanks!
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby Zolko » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:57 am

learner wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 6:34 am
I've simplified the tutorial to use your suggestion of Bodies in the parts.

https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable

Your feedback and suggestions would be most welcome.
Nice, yes, this is very useful, thabk-you. If you renamed the TableSubassy.md to README.md would allow to reach the tutorial easier. I think you forgot to update some screenshots:

Our leg model tree should now look like this:
Image
This has still the Leg => Model => Parts => Body structure, is it correct ? Same for TableTop

with Model: Image and Body only: Image
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
learner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 7:59 am

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby learner » Tue Jun 02, 2020 1:26 am

Zolko wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:57 am
Nice, yes, this is very useful, thabk-you. If you renamed the TableSubassy.md to README.md would allow to reach the tutorial easier. I think you forgot to update some screenshots:
Thanks again for your improvements Zolko. --> Done.

https://github.com/thermalling/FreeCADA ... emblyTable

I've also added an HTML version under README.html. If you think it's ready to publish, I will try to work out where & how on the weekend. (or please feel free to do it yourself if that's easy)
Haldar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 9:41 am

Re: Assembly 4 workbench

Postby Haldar » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:56 pm

I am experiencing little problems with assemblies made with more than one bodies, those bodies are transformed to be positioned in its places.

When I create the LCS it doesn't attach to the place it should be, Is this something normal, should I do subassemblies to prevent this or it's meant to be used like that.

ImageImage

I know that someone asked something similar, but they use subassemblies.

Thank you.
MaurinoWeb
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: Add LCS to assembly

Postby MaurinoWeb » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:42 pm


Simple and useful to understand also sub-assembly and workflow.
Thanks!
User avatar
OficineRobotica
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:17 am

Re: Assembly 4 workbench

Postby OficineRobotica » Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:52 pm

Zolko wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 10:59 am
This certainly looks like a bug. Would you have the possibility to narrow it down to the original cause, so we can try to reproduce it and correct it ?

Thank-yoy for reporting, this also looks like a bug, but I can't reproduce it: what steps did you do to get it ?
Sorry for the delayed response but I wasn't sure how to proceed with the report and I just wanted to do more testing. It was kind of erroneous to report because I haven't realized that I was using realthunder's development branch while having those issues.
Assembly4 behaves as intended when using FC trunk but I think that would be interesting looking into the issues none the less given that asm4 leverages link developed by realthunder.

The original post is here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p405298

The part regarding assembly4 inside realthunder's FC branch start's at minute 3.00.
At the moment I use FC trunk to create the initial assembly "model" , save the file then move to the dev branch and reopen the file. Even then there are some problems with 3d geometry colors being lost or even swapped.

phpBB [video]


I would love to be able to work all the way inside the dev branch instead of needing to swap between releases, but that's up to you if you have the time and will to look in to. Thank you for your work
Best regards.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Assembly 4 workbench

Postby Zolko » Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:39 pm

OficineRobotica wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:52 pm
phpBB [video]
no kiddin, you're modeling the landing gear of the F-16 ? Wow, can you show what you managed to get ?

I would love to be able to work all the way inside the dev branch instead of needing to swap between releases
It's been a long time I didn't check, so can you please tell what are the differences between realthunder's branch and FreeCAD v0.19 ? Or, rather, what are the differences that YOU actually use, and that forces you to switch between the 2 ?
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
OficineRobotica
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:17 am

Re: Assembly 4 workbench

Postby OficineRobotica » Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:24 pm

Zolko wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:39 pm
no kiddin, you're modeling the landing gear of the F-16 ? Wow, can you show what you managed to get ?

It's been a long time I didn't check, so can you please tell what are the differences between realthunder's branch and FreeCAD v0.19 ? Or, rather, what are the differences that YOU actually use, and that forces you to switch between the 2 ?
If you take a look at these screenshots https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 20#p405130 you can see the overlayed interface with the text outline for better readability. The shadowed mode for the 3d viewport, apart from looking cool, is a real help visually when working with assemblies. Also the feature highlighting when hovering the feature in the tree is of great help. Another useful feature is transparent on edit etc etc. Allot of features that help during modelling and assembling. These are some of the main reasons why I use his branch. Also I'm a sucker for the overlayed interface and I am trying to give some feedback. The outline off the text was one of my wishes and tbh I love the results.

Modelling the F16 landing gear obviously pushed me towards asm4 once again because of the ability to animate and add variables on the fly. Of course , this project is your fault lol. You were the one to propose it.

The model in it self is not all that complex or dificult to model. The problem is dimensioning. The info I found around the internet is scarce and in between with no real dimensions. I'm eye balling components trying to stay true to the real thing. Also there are different models of the landing gear and pictures of the real plane are so complex with components hiding beneeth a forest of hidraulic lines.

The plan is to model pretty much everything to get some dimensioning then reassemble with the animation in mind. I'll do a "user showcase" post as soon as possible and ask for help from you guys in there if I get stuck.

P.S. the ability to model in context that I found in your latest asm4 version is of immense help for this particular project where I need to pretty much "design"(pretentious lol) the model in place.

I can't wait to see the animation with asm4 inside FC with all the visual enhancements coded lately by realthunder.