A2Plus importing missing parts

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Takemori
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:25 pm

A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby Takemori » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:48 pm

I have just started using FreeCAD this week and I've been learning it by doing a simple project of framing a shed. While trying different workbenches to create things, i settled with making lumber via the parts workbench and manipulating it with the draft workbench. As I re-did things with the different methods, I wondered if I could build parts of the shed in different files to make them easy to manage and then import them into a single file- and I stumbled upon A2plus when search for this.

However, when imported files into A2plus, it would always lose a few parts of each file (with my walls, it was the base plates, with my floor it was some plywood and joists, etc). I skimmed information and issues in github to see if I could see what I was doing wrong and found nothing. I found a topic in the forum discussing some things that A2plus cannot import as well, but nothing resembling my issue. I've attached some screenshots of the issue; in one there is the floor joists with a transparent view as well to show the joists and in the other you see the imported project missing several joists and some plywood. I have tried manipulating, hiding, and renaming the parts but it does not help.

Does anyone know why this might be happening?

FreeCAD Info:
OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
project.png
project.png (162.39 KiB) Viewed 948 times
A2PlusImport.png
A2PlusImport.png (21.92 KiB) Viewed 948 times
Last edited by Takemori on Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Posts: 29060
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby chrisb » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:49 pm

Your FreeCAD infos as described in the forum guidelines may be helpful for the specialists. You can edit your post and add them.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
Takemori
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:25 pm

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby Takemori » Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:35 pm

Thank you, I've added that information.

I also have a bit of an update. I removed all references of other objects in position/sizing of each object: ie width of inner joists are f(x)=Rim_Joist001.Width and it's placement is f(x)=Rim_Joist001.Placement.Base.x + 16"

When I removed those so each has an absolute value rather than the relative values, everything showed up in the import. So it seems the problem was the relative linking. Which is a bummer as one of my goals was to make a wall that I could change the length of a beam and the rest of the parts would adjust to that setting. Seems for importing I have to have it all changed manually. On the bright side, it is still easier to manually adjust the parts in separate files.

Is there a way to fix this or, barring that, is there a way to quickly remove all the linking in a file? If I can remove it easily. I can build the object with linking to make sure all parts are sized and placed as needed and then just remove the linking when I'm finished. If not, at least manually moving things isn't too tough in FreeCAD.
chrisb
Posts: 29060
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:06 am

I'm not familiar with A2+, but it sounds to me as if a recompute of the whole document may help.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
dan-miel
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:29 am
Location: Spokane WA. USA

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby dan-miel » Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:50 am

Could you upload the file?
Dan
m.cavallerin
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby m.cavallerin » Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:44 pm

Hi,

I think I'm facing same problem with A2p.
If I import the attached file with 0.18, all bodies shown up.
v0.18.png
v0.18.png (23.2 KiB) Viewed 778 times
If I import the same file with 0.19 some parts are missing.
v0.19.png
v0.19.png (15.87 KiB) Viewed 778 times
If I import the file with 0.18, and the I start 0.19: if I update the file, bodies do not disappear; if I add the same part on the same file, the new file is imported with missing bodies.

V0.18 release data:
OS: Linux Mint 19.3
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)


V0.19 release data:
OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

thx
Michele
Attachments
SL30 01.01.00.FCStd
(311.33 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
kbwbe
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby kbwbe » Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:17 pm

m.cavallerin wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:44 pm
I think I'm facing same problem with A2p.
Please update A2plus to V0.4.43a
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.47f, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
m.cavallerin
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby m.cavallerin » Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:12 pm

Thank you very much!!!

Now it seems to work properly.

Regards.

Michele
ACSUS
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:09 pm

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby ACSUS » Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:31 pm

I have the same problem.
The import shows the mirror of the component, but not the original pad/drawing.

I then tried "Add a single shape..". Unfortunately, the original drawing was not listed, but its mirror was. However, all the other mirrors were listed along with their original drawings.

To give more detail: I re-oriented the whole drawing, line by line, using the "Transform" and saved it. I think A2P then started not showing the component.
Thanks.

A2P V0.4.47d
FreeCAD V0.18.4
Win 10 x64
dan-miel
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:29 am
Location: Spokane WA. USA

Re: A2Plus importing missing parts

Postby dan-miel » Sat Sep 26, 2020 5:26 am

ACSUS wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:31 pm
FreeCAD V0.18.4
You might try updating FreeCAD to Ver 19. It has not been released but programs run very different between 18 and 19.
You can download 0.19 from here:https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre
I hope this helps.
Dan