Assembly4 question

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
ericsmoll

Assembly4 question

Post by ericsmoll »

Hi,

I am new to assembly 4 workbench and have a few questions.

1.) Why are there two buttons for creating a new part? One toggles the part as active, one does not. Are there subtle reasons to use one over the other or are they interchangable.

2.) I have an issue where simply opening and closing the sketch in a body in a part linked in a assembly4 model somehow disturbs the placement of a local coordinate system of the same part resulting in a misalignment in the overall model. I can easily edit the local coordinate system references I tried to make a toy model to reproduce the problem but it only happens in my large model system (~9 MB). If anyone can help, I would be happy to email it and give detailed instructions on how to reproduce the issue. Otherwise, does anyone have any idea what causes this?

3.) Why does it seem like there are two names for each local coordinate system in the "place a part" menu that is launched with the "link part" button? (See attached image).

-Eric
Attachments
TwoLCSNames.png
TwoLCSNames.png (10.18 KiB) Viewed 2908 times
ericsmoll

Re: Assembly4 question

Post by ericsmoll »

I have another issue. I have an assembly4 model with a series of multi-body parts that are linked into the model.

It is convenient to use the manipulate workbench to mate pins into holes, etc. When I try to use this toolbox to manipulate a part in my assembly model, the pin moves and a blue "needs recalculation" icon appears on the body I am moving. When I recalculate the workbench, the movement induced by the manipulate workbench is reversed. Why is this happening?

The manipulate toolbox moves the object on the screen but in the data properties of the object, I don't see the position numbers changing.
ericsmoll

Post by ericsmoll »

Hello!