Asm4: Designing two parts to interface..

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
tom_hampton

Asm4: Designing two parts to interface..

Post by tom_hampton »

Hi-

Note: Help|About info is listed below.

This is my first post....so, please be gentle. FWIW, I'm an electrical and software engineer by trade (so... not worth much).

I'm getting more comfortable working in Asm4: using variables to define master sketches, using sketches to constrain assembly LCS's, and attaching parts to those LCS (part_LCS to Asm_LCS). I'm liking the O- attachment modes, as they work mostly intuitively for putting the LCS where I want it to be on a vertex in the Master Sketch, including rotations and offsets.

So far, I've been able to do all that where the parts are independently defined and I'm just sticking them together. So to speak. Some are parts I've created, some are step files from grabcad. I even had some good learning experience in the step files having strange origins, and how to take that step and turn it into a part with the LCS oriented how I want it to be for ease of placement.

So far so good.

What I'm struggling to understand is how to define the interface relationship between two parts that are attached via their LCS where the size and shape of the interface between the two parts "surrounds" the LCS origins in both coordinate systems. My example is below:
simrig.PNG
simrig.PNG (220.8 KiB) Viewed 527 times
Its probably obvious what this is---a sim-racing rig. The interface I'm referring to is for the pedal assembly. I have a rough sketch of just the brake pedal circled in blue above. The pedal assembly will be an inverted-L box that the pedals are attached to. The L will attach to the outside of the main rig along the top, with the pedals hanging from the L. The sides of the pedal frame will fit inside the main-rig box edges.