Managing Project Structure

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
NickP

Managing Project Structure

Post by NickP »

Hi,

Firstly I'm a newbie and I'd like to say hi.

Could not find any info so thought I'd ask the forum.

Question:

What is the best method to creating a project to manage multi parts that will be assembled.
1) Should you create a single part per file.
2) Should you create a multi part file.

Any other methods for organising your projects.

Appreciate any assistance.

Nick.
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Managing Project Structure

Post by chrisb »

Moved to Assembly forum.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
LHC

Post by LHC »

Hi Nick - Welcome aboard. Both approaches are possible. I've not used either :lol: I have not done much assembly work but one of the issues you have to get a grip on first is which assembly workbench you will use - there are three of them - all maintained and improved and none are out of date. There is no one "official" assembly workbench per se. For beginners, you can also just position things together in the proper orientation and not rely on the assembly workbenches at all if you are not concerned so much with kinematic movements etc.
There's a ton of info here, on youtube, and in the wiki. The road is long, pace yourself, and don't fly into a rage too much. I'm working on that last part myself....

Good luck.
NickP

Post by NickP »

Hi LHC,

Thanks, that's all I needed to we can consider this post closed, applicate the help.

Keeping my cool. :P

Nick.
anthonyg

Post by anthonyg »

I'm also thinking a lot about project structure at the moment.

I believe that having a single part per file is the best approach to allow reusability, when I say part I mean single Partdesign body or other body that is not attached to anything else.