How to get wiki editing permissions

Discussions about the wiki documentation of FreeCAD and its translation.
mark463
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:19 am

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby mark463 » Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:52 pm

jmaustpc wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:37 am
mark463 wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:33 am
Please approve this post so that I can send a PM and start contributing to documentation.

Thanks!
Hi, what specifically are you wanting to contribute to the documentation?
As I'm going through some of the beginner tutorials, I would like to propose (minor) corrections and improvements. For example The basic parts design tutorial says "fish editing" rather than "finish editing". Also there was a point in the tutorial where the element selection was not clear, although I can't recall where that was now :)
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby NormandC » Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:58 pm

Hello Mark, I'm waiting for your PM! :)
chrisb
Posts: 19040
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby chrisb » Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Hi Mark, and Jim who brought this up. I would like to see always something like the short description of Mark, explaining what people want to edit if they apply for editong permissions.
John Adriaan
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:06 am

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby John Adriaan » Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:23 am

This is my first post, to fulfil the requirement that I have to post before I can PM for permission to edit the Wiki.

In particular: I found a typo in the "Manual: All workbenches at a glance" page. The table of Part tools shows "JonConnect". While flattered that it has (nearly) my name, it should be "JoinConnect". Oh, and the one below that, "Join Cutout", has a space, unlike "Jo[i]nConnect" and "JoinEmbed". For that matter, other tool names have either a space, or no space, or an underscore!

If I had edit privileges, I would fix the typo, and insert spaces or replace underscores with spaces throughout, since that seems to be the most common usage.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5806
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:06 pm

John Adriaan wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:23 am
If I had edit privileges, I would fix the typo, and insert spaces or replace underscores with spaces throughout, since that seems to be the most common usage.
Please post the pages you see this issue in. The underscores may be required...BTW.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
John Adriaan
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:06 am

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby John Adriaan » Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:47 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:06 pm
Please post the pages you see this issue in. The underscores may be required...BTW.
It's the exact page I gave the title for: Manual:All workbenches at a glance. The first table has a number of icons, their descriptions, and the links to get more information. It's the descriptions that I'm talking about - where underscores are unnecessary, and other descriptions don't bother with them. For example:
* "JonConnect" links to ...Part_JoinConnect
* "Join Embed" links to ...Part_JoinEmbed
* "Join Cutout" links to ...Part_JoinCutout
* "SectionCross" links to ...Part_SectionCross
* "Ruled Surface" links to ...Part_RuledSurface
* "Part_Loft" links to ...Part_Loft

It was the "JonConnect" that I really wanted to fix - but now the other inconsistencies in naming are bugging me too...
Last edited by John Adriaan on Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:14 am

John Adriaan wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:47 am
It's the exact page I gave the title for: [wiki]Manual:All_workbenches_at_a_glance[/wiki]. The
If you had just copy pasted the url from your browser in the first place, we could just one click on it and know exactly what you are talking about.

those wiki tags only work if you format them properly, hold the mouse over them when creating a post and the tool tip pops up with some information.
John Adriaan
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:06 am

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby John Adriaan » Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:47 am

jmaustpc wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:14 am
John Adriaan wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:47 am
It's the exact page I gave the title for: [wiki]Manual:All_workbenches_at_a_glance[/wiki]. The
those wiki tags only work if you format them properly, hold the mouse over them when creating a post and the tool tip pops up with some information.
Those wiki tags don't work at all if there's a colon in the Page_Title. I tried the [ wiki ] (as above) and [ wikisection ] tags, and they just don't parse into URLs by this Wiki software. So I resorted to describing the page title rather than attempting to post a link. But waddaya know? The [ url ] tag doesn't mind the colon! Fixed.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:53 am

this is the page in question, typos are fix

https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Manual: ... t_a_glance

thanks for pointing them out.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to get wiki editing permissions

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 am

John Adriaan wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:47 am
jmaustpc wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:14 am
John Adriaan wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:47 am
It's the exact page I gave the title for: [wiki]Manual:All_workbenches_at_a_glance[/wiki]. The
those wiki tags only work if you format them properly, hold the mouse over them when creating a post and the tool tip pops up with some information.
Those wiki tags don't work at all if there's a colon in the Page_Title. I tried the [ wiki ] (as above) and [ wikisection ] tags, and they just don't parse into URLs by this Wiki software. So I resorted to describing the page title rather than attempting to post a link. But waddaya know? The [ url ] tag doesn't mind the colon! Fixed.
Yes, indeed, also another tip, if you just copy paste the url like I did in my last post, it also works, it doesn't allow the advanced features like custom text, but often its adequate.