Wiki navigation / translation

Discussions about the wiki documentation of FreeCAD and its translation.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Yinameah

Wiki navigation / translation

Post by Yinameah »

Hello everyone,

I'm new to FreeCAD, and i'm so pleased to see the nice efforts being made here with that project. Really well done interface, workflow seem nice, modularity open such wide perspective...
I'm no professional designer nor hardcore coder, but I will spend some time on it, maybe try to help in some way.

Meanwhile, I have noticed something stange with the wiki. I speak french and I saw the wiki is well translated in my langage, but I found no simple way to navigate. For exemple, I'm on the page http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.ph ... Axis_Robot, I change to French, and only the word "Summary" is traducted, even though the french page exists here : http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.ph ... s_Robot/fr.

It's really a pity because if you don't discover the trick you may think there is no traduction. And as the work as been done...
I don't know if it's a bug or maybe I missed something.
If some correction to the wiki are needed to make thing work, I would be pleased to offer my help.
rockn
Veteran

Re: Wiki navigation / translation

Post by rockn »

Hi Yinameah, et Bonjour et bienvenu ! I'm a french speaking user too ;)
Indeed, navigating on the wiki in full French is pretty complicate.
When you say : "I changed to French" I think you are talking about the button at the top of the page. But this button affect, in fact, only your prefered langage for the "interface" of the wiki not the content.
To navigate in "French wiki" you have to scroll down the page and click on the little green square after "Français". After that, normally, if we have well translated the page, almost all links in the wiki page are pointing on translated page. If you keep the cursor on the square, you can also notice the percent translated.