Cannot load GUI module in console application

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
misterwazlib

Cannot load GUI module in console application

Post by misterwazlib »

Hello,

I'm quite new to programming in general but I'm currently trying to do the FEM simulation in FreeCAD directly from the command line without using the GUI and I'm having some difficulties.

When I ran my preliminary python script from the command line, I keep getting error messages that the GUI module can't be loaded. Is it at all possible to load the GUI modules without using the GUI?

Secondly, when I tried to record macros for some of the commands in the FEM workbench, the python scripts came out incomplete (for example to create FEM material for solid & to mesh) or didn't come out at all (to run calculix). Is there another way to automate these commands using a python script?

Thanks before!
Attachments
test_freecad.py
(4.1 KiB) Downloaded 147 times
Macro_Recording_Create_Material_Solid.PNG
Macro_Recording_Create_Material_Solid.PNG (6.96 KiB) Viewed 3960 times
Error_Message_Cmd.PNG
Error_Message_Cmd.PNG (7.61 KiB) Viewed 3960 times
Jee-Bee
Veteran

Re: Cannot load GUI module in console application

Post by Jee-Bee »

First i would advise look at the FEM scripting tutorial: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/FEM_Tutorial_Python
ansecond as i read you're error message you can't use gui tools for commandline. but i don't know if that is complete possible i don't do that without gui...
bernd
Veteran

Post by bernd »

The FEM Python tutorial was mentioned before. Try this. It should answer most of your questions.

as far as I remember ccx tools solver can not run without gui, but the new solver frame work solver can.

My hint. Run your Python code in GUI mode. Anything in FEM should be possible (apart from netgen mesh, this is cumbersome). If it works run the code in non gui.
misterwazlib

Post by misterwazlib »

Hello,