Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8851
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:11 pm

Syres wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:44 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:31 pm
Yes sir. If you could report your results I'll be happy to track them here!
I'll continue tomorrow as promised.
@Syres so... some bad news, the way you formulated the issues in the files makes it very difficult to understand. But it is not for naught, I propose instead of documenting them in the file, a better idea and more efficient is to open new issues for each respective macro in https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-macros/issues
Is that possible for you?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Syres
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Syres » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:32 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:11 pm
@Syres so... some bad news, the way you formulated the issues in the files makes it very difficult to understand. But it is not for naught, I propose instead of documenting them in the file, a better idea and more efficient is to open new issues for each respective macro in https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-macros/issues
Is that possible for you?
OK, I've put your easy reading tree back to original style layout that I think is clear which have been tested and which not.

When I mentioned a couple of days to allocate to this, perhaps that should have stated strictly 10 to 14 hours as I've got to return to income generation and I'll be offline for a good while so I just won't have the time to deal with the evitable back and forth with the macro authors. I've been trying to at least get the downloads working but that's even proving difficult so I'll see how many more tests I can get done this afternoon.

Edit at 16:43 GMT: Updated info in code block

Code: Select all

        Macro                                  Py3       Qt5
============================================================                                                          
├── apothemBasedPrism.py                        Pass	 Pass
├── CartoucheFC.py                              Error     x
├── Conversion
│   └── DeepCopy.FCMacro                        Error     x
├── FCCamera.FCMacro                            Pass     Pass
├── FCRotateViewAbsolute.FCMacro		Pass     Pass
├── FEM
│   └── ExportFem.FCMacro                       x         x
├── Foto.FCMacro                                Error     x
├── GenevaWheelGUI.py                           Pass     Pass
├── makecamera2dview.py                         Error     x
├── myMacroDir
│   ├── __init__.py
│   └── myMacro.py
├── ObjectCreation
│   ├── Airfoil_Import_and_Scale.FCMacro        Error     x
│   ├── Draft_Circle_3_Points.FCMacro           Error     x
│   ├── Draft_Circle_3_Points_3D.FCMacro        Pass     Pass
│   ├── Ellipse-Center+2Points.FCMacro          Error     x
│   ├── GeodesicDome.FCMacro                    Error     x
│   ├── HalfHull.FCMacro                        Error     x
│   ├── HyperbolaCreater.FCMacro                Pass     Pass
│   ├── Macro_FCCircularText.FCMacro            Pass     Pass
│   ├── MakeCircle3Points.FCMacro               Error     x
│   ├── ParabolaCreater.FCMacro                 Pass	 Pass         
│   └── ScrewMaker.FCMacro                      Error     x
├── ParametricObjectCreation
│   └── Rectellipse.FCMacro                     Pass     Pass
├── PureGui
│   └── ViewRotation.FCMacro                    Error     x
├── Sketcher
│   └── SketcherClipView.FCMacro                x         x
├── SolidSweep.FCMacro                          Error     x
├── TechDraw
│   ├── TechDrawSymbolsLibrary.FCMacro          x         x
│   └── TechDrawViewSet.FCMacro                 x         x
│   └── LasercutterSVGExport.FCMacro            Pass      Pass
├── unfoldBox.py                                Error     x
├── unrollRuledSurface.py                       Error     x
└── Utility
    ├── ForceRecompute.FCMacro                  Pass     Pass
    ├── HighlightCommon.FCMacro                 Error     x
    ├── HighlightDifference.FCMacro             Error     x
    ├── MeasureCircle.FCMacro                   Pass     Pass
    ├── MessageBox.FCMacro                      Pass     Pass
    └── SelectVisible.FCMacro                   Pass     Pass

ExpandTreeItem.FCMacro				Pass	 Pass
Last edited by Syres on Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8851
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:51 pm

Yeah, no need to go back and forth with authors just open tickets with the issue you encounter. But I get it. I'll try to get around to this after I complete https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=33475
Thanks for all your help. :D
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8851
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:00 pm

Syres wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:32 am
Follow-up: I opened up several issues in https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-macros/issues based on @Syres's feedback. Thanks @Syres
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
galou_breizh
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby galou_breizh » Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:45 pm

Thanks both for reporting!
Syres
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Macros (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Syres » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:41 pm

galou_breizh wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:45 pm
Thanks both for reporting!
A couple of concerns were raised today after this post https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=34876 . At first I thought the OP had just not downloaded the up-to-date macro through the AddOnManager but on checking that myself I realised the macro downloaded is different to the one on github https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-macr ... le.FCMacro so I'm assuming that there's something in the Wiki that needs tweaking to point at the up-to-date one??

So I knocked together a macro for the OP who had mentioned a couple of different OS and builds being used which leads onto the next thing, does the 2.1.1 version work on your Py3Qt5 build because I still get an error using:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16079 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 6363c90a20b296ab69d7b52230009928199d90df
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "E:/Data/FreeCAD/Macro/Airfoil_quick61.FCMacro", line 38, in <module>
    QtGui.qApp.activeWindow(), 'Open An Airfoil File', '*.dat')
<class 'AttributeError'>: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'activeWindow'
Hence the reason I had to make the 'hack' for the OP to try two different methods for opening the DAT file.