FCCircularText Macro fails

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
SteveInNC
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 3:37 pm

FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by SteveInNC »

HI,

I've been learning FreeCad and designing all sorts of small parts, I wanted to be able to do a circular engraving in text on one part to personalize it.

I searched and found out about the FCCircularText macro and installed it through the Addon Manager. I followed the tutorial, but every time I try to invoke the macro (macro -> macros -> select in panel -> execute) I get the following error:


: ("(unicode error) 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 1: Invalid start byte", ('C:\Users\...\FCCircularText.FCMacro', 796,51,None))


I get this in both FreeCad .17 and .18 Both on the same machine (the error message in .17 is not exactly the same, but I am assuming that .18 is the relevant case).

Windows 10 on an i5 2 core, 4 thread
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

Other info: 16GB system, plenty of free memory, I tried it from both the part and draft workbenches.

Any ideas appreciated!

Steve
UR_
Veteran
Posts: 1355
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by UR_ »

After addon manager has installed macro via git, it looks like that:

line 795 and pending:

Code: Select all

	if verPython.major < 3:
            self.DS_InclinaisonX.setSuffix(unicode(" �"))
            self.DS_InclinaisonY.setSuffix(unicode(" �"))
            self.DS_InclinaisonZ.setSuffix(unicode(" �"))
        else:


But it should look like that:

Code: Select all

        if verPython.major < 3:
            self.DS_InclinaisonX.setSuffix(unicode(" °"))
            self.DS_InclinaisonY.setSuffix(unicode(" °"))
            self.DS_InclinaisonZ.setSuffix(unicode(" °"))
        else:
Please update with editor and save it ;)
SteveInNC
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 3:37 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by SteveInNC »

Awesome! Thanks! That did it!

Steve
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by Kunda1 »

UR_ wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:32 pm After addon manager has installed macro via git, it looks like that:

line 795 and pending:

But it should look like that:

Please update with editor and save it ;)
@UR_ cool, btw are you planning to submit a PR to fix this?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 4692
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by mario52 »

hi

i have modified my macro FCCircularText and FCInfo i change the "°" with chr(176)

also :

chr(178) #exposant 2
chr(179) #exposant 3
chr(181) #micro

now the download is good but the problem stay for the other macros contend "éçà... "

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting.
My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
User avatar
quotelawrence
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:53 pm
Location: San Jose CA
Contact:

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by quotelawrence »

text message.JPG
text message.JPG (137.19 KiB) Viewed 1482 times
I have also had a problem with using the circular text app, after becoming familiar with the regular text I tried using the circular to a medallion, same shape but now engraving on a radius pattern the text appears fine everything looks good, no errors no issues, but I then go to Path to write the g-code and the Job will not appear, and in the lower message it states the shape is not valid, though the shape has been valid in other programs could someone possibly make a short tutorial video on the steps, for creating (1) part, (2) entering circular text (3) Path and establishing Job opens and allows the user to continue to set tooling, depth and speeds. the usual videos are so beneficial for my learning experience and I wish to say thanks for your work on Freecad it has been fabulous :D
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 4692
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by mario52 »

hi

thanks for appreciate my macro

i think your problem is with the Stick font and the Path workbench

try with other font for testing, if you do not have error give your file with the Stick font as example and post in Path/CAM forum

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting.
My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
Dizzwold
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:51 am

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by Dizzwold »

Hi Guys,

A little off subject, but how do I get the FC Circular Text Macros Icon on desktop toolbar?

I've downloaded the DeskTop Icon FCCircularTextButtom.png (yes it says buttom and not Button), but when I click Tools, Customize, Macro;
(1), Pixmat. it's not there.
(2), Pixmat, Icon Folder's, + symbol, Desktop (where I saved the .png image). It's Greyed-out and can't choose/select it.

Any ideas?

Dizzwold.

OS: OS X El Capitan (10.11)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16146 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.4)
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 4692
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by mario52 »

hi
Dizzwold wrote: Thu Dec 03, 2020 1:53 pm It's Greyed-out and can't choose/select it.
no idea

see here maybe one solution [Gelöst]Anpassung der Werkzeugleisten

or tray copy the image file in other directory and give the new path in the "Choice icon" window and maybe restart FreeCAD

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting.
My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
Dizzwold
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:51 am

Re: FCCircularText Macro fails

Post by Dizzwold »

Hi Mario52,

Where are the other icons stored?

Dizzwold.
Post Reply