Render animation frame and stream to video file

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
circuit

Render animation frame and stream to video file

Post by circuit »

Hi all. New user here. Nice to meet you all. I'm an Electrical Engineer by profession, but I tinker with robotics in my spare time. I'm planning to use FreeCAD's scripting capabilities to simulate the gait of a hexapod. I originally hand-wrote a Python-based OpenGL simulator for a 6 DOF robotic arm (here's a screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/UnfD8Fj.jpg) but it's a huge pain to rig. FreeCAD looks like a promising upgrade for complex mechanisms.

I've been playing around with script-based animation via A2Plus and I really appreciate the simplicity of joint actuation when imposing constraints. My concern, however, is slow rendering on the active view due to expensive computation at each time step.

So I had an idea. I'd like to script a job that renders one frame at a time, exporting each frame to a video stream output. I would gladly sacrifice the real-time animation for a smooth video end result. I'd imagine PySide2 can stream to a video buffer, I'm just not sure how to grab the active view (with transparent background).

Any thoughts how I could make this happen? Does this idea seem reasonable?

Note: I'd like to avoid Blender as this would require re-rigging the model.
vocx
Veteran

Re: Render animation frame and stream to video file

Post by vocx »

circuit wrote: Sun May 03, 2020 7:22 am I've been playing around with script-based animation via A2Plus ...
Have you investigated Assembly4? It can also do animations, and since it doesn't use a constraint solver, it may be faster. You may give it a try.

See Challenge: Constant Velocity Joint (M. Gesik)
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.