Creating a standalone Python program to create a complex collection of objects

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
RobertPHeller

Creating a standalone Python program to create a complex collection of objects

Post by RobertPHeller »

OK, I am new to FreeCAD and Python. I have writted a Tcl program (with some 27 Tcl files) that generate a datafile for gCAD3d. It works, BUT gCAD3d is flakey (or at least the version I have, which is probably old). I would like to change everything over to FreeCAD (which seems not to be flakey), but that means translating the Tcl code to Python (which I guess I can manage). I have main question: do I have to run the program inside FreeCAD or is it possible to create a standalone Python program that I can run from the Linux command line? I am also having a hard time dealing with the FreeCAD GUI, so I would like to avoid having to deal with as much as possible.
Robert Heller -- Cell: 413-658-7953 GV: 978-633-5364
Deepwoods Software -- Custom Software Services
http://www.deepsoft.com/ -- Linux Administration Services
heller@deepsoft.com -- Webhosting Services
PrzemoF
Veteran

Re: Creating a standalone Python program to create a complex collection of objects

Post by PrzemoF »

Welcome to the forum!

Start here: https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Python and here https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Power_users_hub
You can run macros from command line or you can import FreeCAD into python. Possibilities are endless ;) but not everything is accessible from python. If you find something that is not - it's worth to ask for it, maybe someone can add it quickly.
vocx
Veteran

Re: Creating a standalone Python program to create a complex collection of objects

Post by vocx »

RobertPHeller wrote: Sat May 30, 2020 7:58 pm ... that generate a datafile for gCAD3d....