Is there such workbench for charting?

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
User avatar
freecadlzh
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:52 pm

Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby freecadlzh » Sun Jul 26, 2020 3:49 pm

It looks like:

https://www.oschina.net/p/vscode-drawio
QQ截图20200726234339.png
QQ截图20200726234339.png (85.65 KiB) Viewed 825 times
Is there such workbench can work like this?

Need suggestion. Thanks a lot.
User avatar
freecadlzh
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby freecadlzh » Tue Jul 28, 2020 5:38 am

Does someone know that?
carlopav
Posts: 1625
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby carlopav » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:22 am

Draft can draw arrows , text and rectangles, but why not using a dedicated software?
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby wandererfan » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:21 pm

freecadlzh wrote:
Sun Jul 26, 2020 3:49 pm
Is there such workbench can work like this?
Use "dia" (visio clone). Export to Svg. in FC, Import Svg as geometry. You'll need to fiddle with the text sizes and change lighting to 2 sided.
DiaExport.png
DiaExport.png (10.29 KiB) Viewed 696 times
User avatar
freecadlzh
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby freecadlzh » Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:44 pm

wandererfan wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:21 pm
freecadlzh wrote:
Sun Jul 26, 2020 3:49 pm
Is there such workbench can work like this?
Use "dia" (visio clone). Export to Svg. in FC, Import Svg as geometry. You'll need to fiddle with the text sizes and change lighting to 2 sided.

DiaExport.png

Thanks, DIA is an excellent software, but it is an independent software. If want to use it, I must switch between dia and FC. Is there any way to integrate it into FC to form a workbench?
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby wandererfan » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:13 am

freecadlzh wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:44 pm
Is there any way to integrate it into FC to form a workbench?
Possibly. Dia has some python scripting support but I haven't tried it.
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7832
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby DeepSOIC » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:40 am

FreeCAD could also play music and forecast weather, you know... Please excuse me if it sounds rude, but charting is not tightly related to mechanical engineering, so why integrate it? Please explain the use case. If it's awesome, it might happen.
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby vocx » Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:12 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:40 am
... is not tightly related to mechanical engineering
Don't assume FreeCAD is only used for a particular usage. Otherwise you are disparaging people that use, say, Draft.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
jmaustpc
Posts: 10566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:50 pm

I think the OP is Chinese, so it could be that his English may be a second language and perhaps not very good. Although his English is certainly infinitely better than my Chinese! :)
DeepSOIC wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:40 am
FreeCAD could also play music and forecast weather, you know... Please excuse me if it sounds rude, but charting is not tightly related to mechanical engineering, so why integrate it? Please explain the use case. If it's awesome, it might happen.
I was thinking the same thing, I am also curious to see what and why he wants because it does, at least at first glance, seem a little strange.

freecadlzh wrote:
Sun Jul 26, 2020 3:49 pm
It looks like
I am also curious to understand what exactly you want and why, what do you want to do this for? :)
User avatar
kkremitzki
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Is there such workbench for charting?

Postby kkremitzki » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:02 pm

vocx wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:12 pm
DeepSOIC wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:40 am
... is not tightly related to mechanical engineering
Don't assume FreeCAD is only used for a particular usage. Otherwise you are disparaging people that use, say, Draft.
At the same time we should not assume FreeCAD should be suitable for all usages.
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.