Anyone interested in bringing Topologic to FreeCAD?

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
nmt

Anyone interested in bringing Topologic to FreeCAD?

Post by nmt »

Hi FreeCAD community,

I am wondering if there is anyone who would be interested in bringing Topologic (http://topologic.app) to FreeCAD as a workbench. Topologic is free and open source, so a very good fit for FreeCAD (plus they share the same engine).

I recently demonstrated that you can access Topologic from Python 3.x through pythonnet. I am just wondering if that means FreeCAD can also access the Topologic DLLs from its own python module? I have worked a bit with FreeCAD (because both FreeCAD and Topologic are built on opencascade), but I am not an expert in how to create a FreeCAD workbench etc etc.

Anyway, if you have time to spare, you are interested, and you know your stuff :) then please contact me (info at topologic dot app) and I will be happy to show you what Topologic can do and see if we can bring it to FreeCAD.
vocx
Veteran

Re: Anyone interested in bringing Topologic to FreeCAD?

Post by vocx »

nmt wrote: Wed Aug 05, 2020 3:04 pm ...
I recently demonstrated that you can access Topologic from Python 3.x through pythonnet. I am just wondering if that means FreeCAD can also access the Topologic DLLs from its own python module? ...
Creating a workbench is very easy. It's done by amateurs who aren't expert programmers by just copying bits and pieces of other workbenches and hacking together something that loads. Or see freecad.workbench_starterkit and Workbench creation.

I think the most important question is what exactly is this topologic? Is it a pure C++ library? Does it include a GUI interface? Does it have Python bindings? Is it a node programming language? Does it create shapes, shape-definitions? It's not entirely clear to me.