CuraEngine Plugin

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
cblt2l

CuraEngine Plugin

Post by cblt2l »

This is a macro I've been working on for integrating CuraEngine into freecad. For those not familiar, CuraEngine is the command line program used by Cura for gcode generation. I'm not an expert so the code may be a bit rough (but functional ;) ). I didn't add all of the slice settings into the Gui yet but plan on doing so in the near future. I haven't figured out a way to save the settings either so they have to be entered every time you run the script. If anyone knows a good way to store these (preferably inside the freecad document) please let me know.

To use do the following:
1) install the official Cura package (CuraEngine is installed to /usr/share/cura/CuraEngine) or compile CuraEngine from source.
2) Clone the git repo into ~/.FreeCAD/Mod

Code: Select all

cd ~/.FreeCAD/Mod
git clone https://github.com/cblt2l/FreeCAD-CuraEngine-Plugin.git
3) Restart FreeCAD.
4) Select '3D Printing' from the workbench dropdown menu

Running the CuraEngine plugin
1) Switch to 3D Printing workbench
2) Select 'CuraEngine Slicer Tool' from toolbar
3) Enter settings and select part/parts
4) Click OK. Gcode, log and stl files will be created in the same directory as the fcstd file

** Update 5/14/14
- Created a 3D Printing workbench. Macros no longer run as macros.

**Update 4/23/14
- Fixed minimal layer time setting
- Created github repo. Removed tgz attachment

**Updated 4/11/14
- Fixed settings output to gcode

**Updated 4/9/14
- Added many more slicer options
- Settings are saved internally
curaengine_plugin_3.png
curaengine_plugin_3.png (121.61 KiB) Viewed 22749 times
Last edited by cblt2l on Thu May 15, 2014 1:38 am, edited 5 times in total.
quick61
Veteran

Re: CuraEngine Plugin

Post by quick61 »