(WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Post Reply
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

(WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

If I start the weekly version with deleted configuration files, I cannot change the grid spacing.
if I start and end once 0.19.3 it works. apparently 19.3 creates a file that is required by the weekly version and is missing.
Bildschirmfoto_2022-05-14_08-09-23.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-05-14_08-09-23.png (104.17 KiB) Viewed 387 times

OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.28857 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at fe4f6e0)
Hash: fe4f6e0aec3f00a5a9595bd50ba90dd866326321
Python 3.9.12, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)



edit

changing the setting has no effect
Last edited by thomas-neemann on Sat May 14, 2022 6:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

workaround

if you e.g. 0.20.26720 starts you can change the settings effectively, the weekly version adopts the values, but cannot change them effectively yourself.
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 4815
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by Roy_043 »

Last edited by Roy_043 on Sat May 14, 2022 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

Roy_043 wrote: Sat May 14, 2022 8:18 am This PR is culprit:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/5427
Thank you. is the problem being worked on?
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 4815
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by Roy_043 »

IMO the commit should be reverted. I have added a comment to that effect:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull ... 1126669377
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

Roy_043 wrote: Sat May 14, 2022 8:27 am IMO the commit should be reverted. I have added a comment to that effect:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull ... 1126669377
Thanks very much
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

the problem is still there


OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.28909 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 2084652)
Hash: 20846523c9d8219ec0fe33c499a64e700d2266b6
Python 3.9.12, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7752
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by openBrain »

thomas-neemann wrote: Fri May 20, 2022 7:19 pm the problem is still there
Good news that it didn't solve by itself.
A first PR is here : https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/6899
Seems to be some more issues to solve in Draft itself where you can change grid size outside the preferences. Will look a bit later (hopefully).
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: (WORKAROUND) I can't change the grid spacing in the weekly version

Post by thomas-neemann »

openBrain wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 4:07 pm ...
thanks for the cooperation
ich biete freecad online-support an, als mini-job
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... ry=freecad
Post Reply