Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10725
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby yorik » Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:53 pm

I modified the working of Arch WB so now, on creating a window or a rebar, the external references of the base sketch are no longer removed. Instead, the window/rebar is not attached to the original wall/structure anymore, but to a new wall or structure that uses the former as base object.

So far this seems to work nicely. It will inflate a bit the model (one more object everytime you create a window), but I think it will stay manageable, and it is much more freecadish. And after all, one day or another, we will have assembly! :)
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1508
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby rockn » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:25 pm

This is pretty cool !
Now, why not automatically mapping the sketch to the wall face ? So we can move the wall and windows will follow.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
triplus
Posts: 8154
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby triplus » Sat Dec 19, 2015 4:05 pm

Good to hear that.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10725
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby yorik » Sun Dec 20, 2015 12:36 am

rockn wrote:Now, why not automatically mapping the sketch to the wall face ?
Will that make the sketch move automatically? I'm not sure.
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1508
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby rockn » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:39 pm

It work quite good.
I have to apply the sketch to wall face.
I also have to set Normal's window to 0,0,0.
FollowingsWindows.fcstd
(61.02 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
The only thing that does not follow well the move is the offset and thickness of windows component.

Try it by moving the line in WallTrace sketch.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10725
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby yorik » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:26 pm

hm indeed mapped sketches work pretty well...But there is also the whole "move with host" system that conflicts with it... I must think a bit better how to do this...
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1508
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby rockn » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:32 pm

Indeed, while making some test, i think of that.
The main problem of "moving with host" in this case is that it work well only if you move the wall object. But the base object of the wall don't follow, this will make hard time after that to adjust the wall if the base object is far from the wall.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10725
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby yorik » Sun Dec 20, 2015 8:42 pm

Yes. this is a delicate problem...
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby Renato Rebelo » Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:56 am

yorik wrote:I modified the working of Arch WB so now, on creating a window or a rebar, the external references of the base sketch are no longer removed. Instead, the window/rebar is not attached to the original wall/structure anymore, but to a new wall or structure that uses the former as base object.

So far this seems to work nicely. It will inflate a bit the model (one more object everytime you create a window), but I think it will stay manageable, and it is much more freecadish. And after all, one day or another, we will have assembly! :)
Hello,
I was testing and thinking a little on this subject, I think the model becomes very confusing and difficult to manage. For example: when I want to change the height of a wall that received a window I have to edit the original wall and not the wall that is visible. it requires too much navigate in the tree of objects ...
For me this aspect was better before, although I realize that so is more consistent with the other workbenches, but in my opinion not worth the extra work.
thank you,
Renato

PS: Also the material assigned to the original wall is not currently moving to the new wall ...
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10725
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch no longer removes external references from sketches

Postby yorik » Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:22 am

there is now an option in the arch preferences to revert back to the old behaviour...