Structure in xz-plane

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:16 pm

I'm trying to learn how to use the Arch Workbench (and I have to admit that it is a bit of a struggle).
One problem I have encountered is trying to create a structure from a shape on the xz-plane. It seems that it tries to extract not along the y-axis but the z-axis.

Am I doing something wrong or is it only possible to use xy-plane for structures?

EDIT:
After further testing. The problem occurs for closed DWires. Circles and Rectangles work in xz-plane
renatorivo
Posts: 2032
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby renatorivo » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:45 pm

you can change the properties Data-> Normal
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:25 pm

renatorivo wrote:you can change the properties Data-> Normal
Yes. Have tried that but it doesn’t help. (And it is changed back to 0,0,1 if you select the plane in the 3D-view after changing the normal.)

To test what I'm writing about:
Choose xz-plane
Draw a DWire triangle and select the face.
Choose Structure.
renatorivo
Posts: 2032
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby renatorivo » Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:07 pm

first post, welcome
to me it seems to work, as I understand it
have you an updated version of FreeCAD?
xzplane.png
xzplane.png (75.33 KiB) Viewed 1128 times
requests for help should be in "Help on using FreeCAD", there were more visitors
read "IMPORTANT: Please read first before asking for help" there are instructions to give information on your system
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:10 pm

Thanks!

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6066 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 24c60199cce8c8def9b67d17cf7569b57fcb3aed
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17


Sadly this is what I get:

Image
renatorivo
Posts: 2032
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby renatorivo » Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:54 pm

JAndersM wrote:Sadly this is what I get:
here sets y = 1
xzplane2.png
xzplane2.png (50.76 KiB) Viewed 1080 times
This is a screen with Windows, but Linux is the same, my previous screen.
OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6090 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7c359b7b30ef365a0fff47c5d5d3b3ac4fa7fb13
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:40 am

No go
Image

Polygon, Circle, Rectangle works but not B-spline or DWire:
Image
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Sat Dec 26, 2015 9:37 am

Did some testing and it is in the lines 606-608 in the ArchStructure.py that they are treated differently:

Code: Select all

                    if obj.Normal == Vector(0,0,0):
                        p = FreeCAD.Placement(obj.Base.Placement)
                        normal = p.Rotation.multVec(normal)
                        print str(p)+" "+str(obj.Base) #Test
Circle in xz-plane:
Placement [Pos=(-400,0,0), Yaw-Pitch-Roll=(-0,0,90)] <Part::Part2DObject>

DWire-triangle in xz-plane:
Placement [Pos=(0,0,0), Yaw-Pitch-Roll=(0,0,0)] <Part::Part2DObject>

But why does it work for you and not me?
jmaustpc
Posts: 8870
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby jmaustpc » Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:52 am

JAndersM wrote:But why does it work for you and not me?
There is a property of the "structure" called "normal". It is that which you should be adjusting....from your screen shots it looks like you are attempting to adjust the Placement ...Axis...which is something different.
JAndersM
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Structure in xz-plane

Postby JAndersM » Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:07 pm

jmaustpc wrote:There is a property of the "structure" called "normal". It is that which you should be adjusting....from your screen shots it looks like you are attempting to adjust the Placement ...Axis...which is something different.
Ah found it! Thanks!
You have to change the normal for the Structure after it is created.

But than means that you have to manually calculate the normal if you are using DWires as the base for your structure. Doesn't it?