workflow with snap reference

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby bitacovir » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:57 pm

jmaustpc, Thanks for your example. I did it. However, In my case the folder was not there, so I have to copy and paste it manually. I do not know why.
jmaustpc About your test with the snap, that is exactly what I was referring. When I create a structure with out any previous element, the snap does not work on the vertex. Now, something fun is in FreeCAD 0.16: I do not have preset for Arch structure, but the program create a rectangular column by itself (no geometry is selected). when I try draft line the snap only mark a point in the center of the base :P

JAndersM Thanks for the file. I will copy it and put it in the folder.
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
jmaustpc
Posts: 8876
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:45 pm

bitacovir wrote: FreeCAD 0.16
Yes but when you say 0.16....which one? This is the development branch of the code that will become 0.16 hence it gets updates a lot and very quickly. Note my version data is says Version: 0.16.6274 (Git).

It is best to post you "Help menu....about FreeCAD" data from the Part or PartDesign workbenches so that we get all the information as it is often relevant either now or in the future.

I think Yorik only add those a few days ago but I'll have to check to know...back in a bit...

Jim

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6274 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: master
Hash: cbdd18cef6338038ed9e06a1773d4d55f231e46e
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.9.1.oce-0.18-dev
jmaustpc
Posts: 8876
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:54 pm

jmaustpc wrote:I think Yorik only add those a few days ago but I'll have to check to know...back in a bit...
Yorik added the file "profiles.csv" just over two weeks ago, 10-01-2016.

So please let us know if your FreeCAD is more recent than that and if so, exactly how and where you got it from. It may be a compile problem/bug or just you need to update. :)
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby sgrogan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:11 pm

I just downloaded the latest snapshot and it works for me
Preset.PNG
Preset.PNG (22.33 KiB) Viewed 666 times
I thought I had fixed this here:git commit f325a Am I missing something?
The path to the .csv file is BuildDir/data/MOD/Arch/Presets

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6272 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 57fadb1663ff668fa8e91f5629b55870476f4d8b
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
jmaustpc
Posts: 8876
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:30 pm

sgrogan wrote:I just downloaded the latest snapshot and it works for me
But you are talking about the pre-sets being available from the drop down lists.... not the snapping... right?
sgrogan wrote:I thought I had fixed this here:git commit f325a Am I missing something?
The path to the .csv file is BuildDir/data/MOD/Arch/Presets
I missed your commit, so that makes the functionality 14 days old not 16. :)

I wonder if he has downloaded a FreeCAD more than 14 days old?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby sgrogan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:32 pm

Yes I mean the presets.
jmaustpc wrote: I wonder if he has downloaded a FreeCAD more than 14 days old?
Maybe from SF?
Latest builds are here:https://github.com/freecad/freecad/releases
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby bitacovir » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:42 pm

jmaustpc wrote:
bitacovir wrote: FreeCAD 0.16
Yes but when you say 0.16....which one? This is the development branch of the code that will become 0.16 hence it gets updates a lot and very quickly. Note my version data is says Version: 0.16.6274 (Git).

It is best to post you "Help menu....about FreeCAD" data from the Part or PartDesign workbenches so that we get all the information as it is often relevant either now or in the future.
I already did it in the previous page.
here i copy again the version
I downloaded it from here https://github.com/freecad/freecad/releases

This is the version:
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6214 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: db539008be1e727066ec1dfcfc221f13d8e97f1d
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby sgrogan » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:55 pm

And wouldn't you know it the fix was version 0.16.6215. So that's why the code works and you don't have the directory.
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby bitacovir » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:44 pm

sgrogan wrote:And wouldn't you know it the fix was version 0.16.6215. So that's why the code works and you don't have the directory.
ok. Now I download the last version of FreeCAD. The profiles are there, but the snap is still working weird (the structure does not have geometry base and the working plane is off in snap options). Any way I know is a pre-release version.
see:
2016-01-26 09_35_08-FreeCAD.png
2016-01-26 09_35_08-FreeCAD.png (127.28 KiB) Viewed 632 times
2016-01-26 09_42_25-FreeCAD.png
2016-01-26 09_42_25-FreeCAD.png (42.88 KiB) Viewed 632 times
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6272 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 57fadb1663ff668fa8e91f5629b55870476f4d8b
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: workflow with snap reference

Postby Renato Rebelo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:18 am

Hello,
try clicking ctrl while making snap.
this changes the snap position

Renato
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you