arch roof tool - geometry errors

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
JLB85FR
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:08 pm
Location: Vendée - France

arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby JLB85FR » Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:18 pm

Hello,
when creating a simple roof from a rectangle, all the roof parts are detected in error with the part 'Check geometry' tool.
is this normal or not ? look at attached design. I just changed the 'run' values to 500mm.
thanks
Attachments
roof with geometry errors.FCStd
(9.37 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby Renato Rebelo » Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:27 pm

Which version you use?
You should join information about the version of FreeCAD ...
I tested the file and everything seems to be fine ...
greetings,
Renato

OS: Ubuntu 15.10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6623 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 9d617ce4c8a0d65155c6b2d4bbff273519b6e573
Python version: 2.7.10
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
JLB85FR
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:08 pm
Location: Vendée - France

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby JLB85FR » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:04 pm

sorry, this is a derivation of another topic I made. not tested with 6623...

OS: Windows XP
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.16.6612 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 18f0cc634665e15f5191dbfa9ea980a16e25ad26
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
JLB85FR
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:08 pm
Location: Vendée - France

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby JLB85FR » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:17 pm

I've just downloaded the last release:

OS: Windows XP
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.16.6623 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 9d617ce4c8a0d65155c6b2d4bbff273519b6e573
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

same problem. did you checked on roof ? not base rectangle ?
I'll try on osX later ....
Attachments
roof geometry errors.PNG
roof geometry errors.PNG (24.8 KiB) Viewed 1647 times
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby Renato Rebelo » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:42 pm

Yes, I tested the roof, not detected any errors?
greetings,
Renato
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby rockn » Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:18 am

Hi JLB85FR,
You're right, the BOPAlgo check failed. And it's not normal.
It's because the roof object is a compound of solids (one for each pane), if you downgrade the object you will get valid solids.

I notice a fusion of these solids give a valid object.
I will look into the code.

@renato : You have to enable the BOPAlgo check :
Tools>Edit parameters>BaseApp>Preferences>Mod>Part>CheckGeometry>RunBOPCheck>True
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby Renato Rebelo » Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:11 pm

@renato : You have to enable the BOPAlgo check :
Tools>Edit parameters>BaseApp>Preferences>Mod>Part>CheckGeometry>RunBOPCheck>True

OK,
already tested and detects errors,
thank you,
Renato
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
JLB85FR
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:08 pm
Location: Vendée - France

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby JLB85FR » Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:24 pm

Thanks guys for your tests.

I tried the downgrade, it makes first a compound that needs to be downgraded in turn, but after that, it is not possible to undowngrade (upgrade) ... I think.
I used CTRLZ to rollback, from the fusion, all was ok until the compound, but I didn't find the original roof again. it appears in the treeview, but is not visible (seems to have been reduced to a zero size).
Of course, the idea is to continue working with roofs... to be able to adjust its properties.
it will be nice if you find something in the code, rockn.
BTW, I have tried to make a roof with only one pane, I never succeed really (there is still one line beeing visible on one side)
Attachments
roof vanished after undo downgrade.PNG
roof vanished after undo downgrade.PNG (16.05 KiB) Viewed 1549 times
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby rockn » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:29 pm

Hi,
The BOPCheck failed is fixed now : git commit 010121d8c11a4cbdcaaf14d476f501108ad5f7f4
The final roof objet is a fuse.
About Ctrl-Z/undo failed I need more time, not sure it will be done until 0.16 release.

To make a one pane roof, make wire with 4 edges, create a roof, set 3 panes with an angle of 90°.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
jmaustpc
Posts: 9308
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: arch roof tool - geometry errors

Postby jmaustpc » Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:04 pm

rockn wrote:Hi,
Hi Rockn
I have worked out one thing that had been causing me to not get a valid roof. My roof was upside down. If I create a rectangle in a sketch, it would seem that you must start at the bottom left corner and drag to the top right, if you go from top right down to bottom left you get a plane normal in the wrong direction, the same is true for a roof based on a Draft Rectangle.

this file shows what I am talking about, the last roof is upside down.
ArchRooftests1.fcstd
(28.97 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
Jim