Parametric Arch modelling

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
lambda

Parametric Arch modelling

Post by lambda »

Hi,

this post is a combination of giving feedback, asking for feedback/review and exploring some ideas about future Arch tools. One of the reasons I'm writing this, is because this sentence in the Arch roadmap kind of provoked me. I hope this turns into a useful discussion:
Mech engineering parametric design is usually based on changes history and constraint solving. Those two concept have much less importance in building design, since you rarely want to crawl back in the steps you did (they are usually very simple), and keeping constraints like horizontality, angle, or distance, even if they are useful, is not as important as in mech design.
I should metion that I'm not a CAD designer, but a programmer who accidentally happens to deal with buildings a lot recently. I guess that makes me very poor at drawing things and love parametric design for the sake of it. I sure am biased.

The current Arch workflow seems to be more about automated drawing than about parametric design. I guess this works well if
  • the user is experienced drawing (ie knows how to copy and rotate objects, so they end up in the proper place)
  • the building has a rectangular shape, so it's easy to use the grid or just plainly type coordinates
  • the building is modelled from scratch or based on high quality drawings