Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator And Panelizer macro

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:23 am

Hi Humberto,
from a construction point of view you are right, but there is a problem with FEM.
Please see the two examples:
In case A there is absolutely no gap between the horizontal/vertical beam.
You get a compliant mesh, that means the structure reacts under loading as one body.
In case 2 there is a tiny gap (0,1 mm) between the bodies. You get a noncompliant mesh,
in fact two bodies. The horizontal beam deflects into the column. You can eliminate this
behaviour by running a contact analysis. For that you must know where all gaps are located.
A better way: eleminate all gaps.
caseA1.JPG
caseA1.JPG (103.76 KiB) Viewed 801 times
caseA2.JPG
caseA2.JPG (76.67 KiB) Viewed 801 times
caseB1.JPG
caseB1.JPG (114.92 KiB) Viewed 801 times
caseB2.JPG
caseB2.JPG (72.49 KiB) Viewed 801 times
User avatar
hhassey
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:01 pm
Location: Ensenada, Mexico

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby hhassey » Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:50 am

thschrader wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:23 am
Hi Humberto,
from a construction point of view you are right, but there is a problem with FEM.
I know exactly what you are saying, I have dealt with this so many times.

as of now, the steel posts are smaller by exactly the thickness of the track, I made this to you get pretty drawings of the sections, and better renders. It should not be so difficult to set a FEM switch that when chosen it draws the tracks and studs with the exactly same dimension and thus overlapping, fusing such a piece should be no problem.

What are your thoughts?
paullee
Posts: 2984
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: [EDIT] Re: Automatic Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby paullee » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:41 am

hhassey wrote:
Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:35 pm
This error that was reported has been fixed !!!
paullee wrote:
Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:59 am

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/run/media/paullee/80G_Data/FreeCAD_Macro/FreeCAD_Hhassey/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame-master-942ec7a62468a731fc893daf6f5ebc268bdc9e43/Steel_Frame_Creator_to Macro.FCMacro", line 321, in onChanged
    vt=a.Shape.Volume
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: shape is invalid
Error Fixed!! , please grab a copy of the new version on Gitlab https://gitlab.com/Oriond/FreeCAD-Steel_Frame.git
Seem a lot of development after a while :) Would further try, thanks.

In addition to my earlier suggestions, maybe later installation like conduits and junction box for electricity, plumbing pipes etc. would be incorporated in the wall!
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:31 am

hhassey wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:50 am
thschrader wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:23 am
Hi Humberto,
from a construction point of view you are right, but there is a problem with FEM.
I know exactly what you are saying, I have dealt with this so many times.

as of now, the steel posts are smaller by exactly the thickness of the track, I made this to you get pretty drawings of the sections, and better renders. It should not be so difficult to set a FEM switch that when chosen it draws the tracks and studs with the exactly same dimension and thus overlapping, fusing such a piece should be no problem.

What are your thoughts?
That is exactly what we need for FEM.
Another intersting addition would be:
Generate the 2d-lines (center of gravity of U-shapes) to get a 2-D model
for running a calculation with beam elements.
regards Thomas
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:45 pm

Allright, I can import the frame sketch into my commercial statics-program
via dxf. Filtering does not work properly, but basically it works.
As an engineer I would prefer a beam analisys instead 3-D-FEM.
If you have possible hinges in the frame it is far easier to model the hinges
with beams.
FrameSketch.JPG
FrameSketch.JPG (62.51 KiB) Viewed 757 times
statics.JPG
statics.JPG (40.73 KiB) Viewed 757 times
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:24 pm

beamAnalysis.JPG
beamAnalysis.JPG (72.06 KiB) Viewed 752 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 11096
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby bernd » Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:00 pm

in FreeCAD Arch is some tool to define the analytical axis of a Arch Structure.
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:56 pm

bernd wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:00 pm
in FreeCAD Arch is some tool to define the analytical axis of a Arch Structure.
Hi Bernd, do you mean the axis-tools?
axisTools.JPG
axisTools.JPG (7.92 KiB) Viewed 730 times
@Humberto:
I found a way to import complex sketches/wires into my statics-program without errors.
Even B-splines are accepted...
Creating the sketches and importing goes fast. I think there is no need to waste time
on programming a sketch-generator in your macro. In "normal" building-construction it doesnt
matter when the static-system has a little difference to the real geometry.
regards Thomas
importSketch.JPG
importSketch.JPG (68.87 KiB) Viewed 730 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 11096
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby bernd » Sat Jan 06, 2018 5:18 pm

no much more smarter, in Arch_Structure the Structural nodes.
thschrader
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Automatic Light Gauge Steel Frame Creator macro

Postby thschrader » Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:31 pm

bernd wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2018 5:18 pm
no much more smarter, in Arch_Structure the Structural nodes.
Aaah..structural nodes. Yes, know I remember Yoriks thread:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=17909

@Humberto, an idea:
Can you define each member of the frame as a structure and after
that merge all parts together? When upgradung the frame to a structure,
I get only one structural point, but no lines.
When importing two beam-structures in arch-wb and do the fusion command
in part wb, the structural nodes/lines remain. And it is fully parametric.
Thomas
structuralNodes.JPG
structuralNodes.JPG (62.16 KiB) Viewed 712 times