BIM Workbench

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
neophyte1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby neophyte1 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:37 pm

I think I found the problem. I downloaded the appimage from the FreeCAD main site and the IFC properties buttons worked. But I think the ppa 2:0.18.4+dfsg1~201911060029~ubuntu18.04.1, dated 2019-11-06, may have a bug in it that prevents these buttons from becoming active.
neophyte1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby neophyte1 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:33 am

I replaced the version 0.18.4 with the latest daily build (0.19~pre2~202003311403~ubuntu18.04.1). Now the Ifc Elements Manager tool buttons show up in the BIM workbench, so that problem is solved. However, I cannot draw walls using either the Arch or BIM workbenches. When FreeCAD starts, I get an error message that says, "During initialization the error "No module named 'DraftSnap'" occurred in /home/cheroki/.FreeCAD/Mod/flamingo/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information." When I try to draw a wall in either the Arch or BIM workbench, I get an error message that says, "Running the Python command 'Arch_Wall' failed:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/freecad-daily/Mod/Arch/ArchWall.py", line 235, in Activated
import DraftTrackers

No module named 'DraftTrackers'

Is there a simple fix? Thanks!
vocx
Posts: 3962
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby vocx » Wed Apr 01, 2020 1:41 am

neophyte1 wrote:
Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:33 am
...
No module named 'DraftTrackers'
See Wall command fails in FreeCAD_0.19.20310-Win-Conda.

For Flamingo and Dodo, as they are external workbenches, please contact the author of that workbench and tell him to update his code to the latest version of Draft.
When FreeCAD starts, I get an error message that says, "During initialization the error "No module named 'DraftSnap'" occurred in /home/cheroki/.FreeCAD/Mod/flamingo/InitGui.py
Edit: I forgot, the issue of DraftSnap is already solved upstream, in pull request #4.

Get the latest code of dodo. You shouldn't be using Flamingo as it's basically obsoleted by Dodo.
Last edited by vocx on Wed Apr 01, 2020 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7319
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 1:42 am

neophyte1 wrote:
Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:33 am
I replaced the version 0.18.4 with the latest daily build (0.19~pre2~202003311403~ubuntu18.04.1). Now the Ifc Elements Manager tool buttons show up in the BIM workbench, so that problem is solved. However, I cannot draw walls using either the Arch or BIM workbenches. When FreeCAD starts, I get an error message that says, "During initialization the error "No module named 'DraftSnap'" occurred in /home/cheroki/.FreeCAD/Mod/flamingo/InitGui.py
Looks like the latest Draft code merges are effecting other workbenches that rely on Draft code. Try for the sake of experimentation, uninstalling the Flamingo external workbench. Restart and see if you see the issue.

Note: we need to let the @oddtopus about possible changes that may effect his workbenches. FYI, Flamingo has been superceded by dodo workbench (with is Python3/Qt5 compliant). So better to test Dodo WB and remove Flamingo WB all together.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
neophyte1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby neophyte1 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:44 pm

Looks like the latest Draft code merges are effecting other workbenches that rely on Draft code. Try for the sake of experimentation, uninstalling the Flamingo external workbench. Restart and see if you see the issue.

Note: we need to let the @oddtopus about possible changes that may effect his workbenches. FYI, Flamingo has been superceded by dodo workbench (with is Python3/Qt5 compliant). So better to test Dodo WB and remove Flamingo WB all together.
I uninstalled Freecad and installed today's latest daily build (0.19~pre2~202004011358~ubuntu18.04.1), and I uninstalled the Flamingo workbench and installed the Dodo workbench. Everything seems to be working right now. Thanks much!
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:00 am

Indeed there is a big code refactor of the Draft WB going on (on which several others depend), that can affect many other workbenches. However these changes are much needed and will make all future development much easier and faster. So we need a bit of patience until it is finished...

For your issue however, usually if a button is greyed out it is because there is no document open or there is another command running
paullee
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Apr 12, 2020 4:08 am

yorik wrote:
Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:00 am
Ping
Trying to check again the ArchSchedule and happen to find there is a Quantity Manager !

It is noted there is a remark indicates ' Length, Width and Height can be changed here...' and it looks great ! It is much easier to organise than the Window Manager, which though organise all Windows / Doors in a single view, only allow change of attribute one by one.

In fact, if this Schedule / Table can be customised and become an object that can be insert into ArchView / TechDraw, it will help making production drawings ?


p.s.

It seems there are a few bugs noted e.g. when BIM is installed and run, it complains 'Rebar' is missing, needs to install 'Reinforcement' and then BIM runs.


Quantity Manager
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-25-11.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-25-11.png (222.5 KiB) Viewed 630 times

Window Manager
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-33-26.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-33-26.png (318.24 KiB) Viewed 630 times

Common Window / Door Schedule format found online
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-48-24.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-12 11-48-24.png (519.59 KiB) Viewed 630 times
paullee
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby paullee » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:03 am

p.s.

And I had tested some time ago a Macro to list out ArchSpace, this included some attributes like SpaceType, Finishes of Wall, Floor and Ceiling, Floor Thickness.

Wonder if / how these should be included in the Quantity Manager. And if every Arch/BIM object list their unique attributes in the Quantity Manager, the columns will be soon used up.

The Quantity Manger Table Layout is just excellent to fill out / edit all the attributes in a flat model manner !

Screenshot from 2020-04-13 18-45-48.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-13 18-45-48.png (331.31 KiB) Viewed 565 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:13 pm

The missing rebar WB error in BIM is fixed already.
The Quantities manager is originally made only for IFC export... But you are right, it could become much more. And indeed exporting it (or bidirectionally link it) to a spreadsheet is a pretty interesting idea...
A tool that lists spaces and their properties is also interesting...
paullee
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:01 pm

yorik wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:13 pm
The Quantities manager is originally made only for IFC export... But you are right, it could become much more. And indeed exporting it (or bidirectionally link it) to a spreadsheet is a pretty interesting idea...
Now, I try to see how far I can use the Information available in the model to do something like a Construction Drawing, Door Schedule etc. :)

I had a number of Clones to same Door in the Villa Savoye Model, each of them with a Tag W14, W15 etc. DLabel can show their Tag on the model, OK. So far, DLabel can show their Height, Width, Label etc...

Picking up from what I left 2 years ago :) Arch Window/Door - Identification of 'Inside / Outside' + Finishes & Material + Hinge Offset... Seem still kind of difficult just want to show e.g. the Materials / Thickness of Door Frame, Door Panel, Window Frame, Glass Panel ?

Any idea ? Thanks.
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-57-39.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-57-39.png (350.63 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-05-25.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-05-25.png (256.85 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-06-16.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-06-16.png (253.78 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-46-30.png
Screenshot from 2020-04-20 00-46-30.png (261.27 KiB) Viewed 418 times