BIM Workbench

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11978
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:09 am

The WindowParts property is really a weird thing.. Might be time to evolve that to something more easily parsable...
neophyte1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby neophyte1 » Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:12 pm

Hello all,
I'm having a problem with the latest daily version of FreeCAD (0.19~pre2~202004221805~ubuntu18.04.1). When I try to insert a wall using the BIM workbench and with Working Plane Snap on, I get the following error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/freecad-daily/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1350, in move
mask=App.Snapper.affinity)
AttributeError: module 'FreeCAD' has no attribute 'Snapper'
<class 'AttributeError'>

Also, when I was using the daily build from two days ago and tried to use the Aliasing feature to set the length of a wall from the spreadsheet, this feature did not work. No matter what I entered in the spreadsheet, the length of the wall I placed did not change. I was able, however, to change the height of the wall from the spreadsheet. I apologize for not having the error message from my attempt. Thanks much for your help!
carlopav
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby carlopav » Thu Apr 23, 2020 5:50 am

neophyte1 wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:12 pm
Hello all,
I'm having a problem with the latest daily version of FreeCAD (0.19~pre2~202004221805~ubuntu18.04.1). When I try to insert a wall using the BIM workbench and with Working Plane Snap on, I get the following error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/freecad-daily/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1350, in move
mask=App.Snapper.affinity)
AttributeError: module 'FreeCAD' has no attribute 'Snapper'
<class 'AttributeError'>
This is probably my fault. I'll give a look at this in the we!
Just guessing it should have been Gui.Snapper.affinity
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11978
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:40 pm

I fixed this issue this morning! git commit 3802e07f54

I also added a new Arch Truss tool!
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:00 pm

yorik wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:40 pm

I also added a new Arch Truss tool!
I just love it when you add these automatic tools.
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My personal web site
My GitHub repository
My old Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11978
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:21 pm

Too bad there is no explicit support for it in ifc..
Need to add more types too, but it's a start!
Now working on a curtain wall tool
neophyte1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby neophyte1 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 11:54 pm

Thanks, Yorik, for your work. I updated to the latest FreeCAD daily (0.19~pre2~202004231808~ubuntu18.04.1), but unfortunately, I am still not able to place a wall using the BIM workbench. I get the following error message:

Unknown command 'Draft_SetWorkingPlaneProxy'

when I call the BIM workbench, and I get the following message (repeated many times)

<class 'TypeError'>
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/freecad-daily/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1352, in move
movecallback(self.pt, self.snapInfo)
TypeError: update() takes 2 positional arguments but 3 were given


when I try to place a wall. Thanks again for your help.
carlopav
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby carlopav » Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:10 am

could be the commit was not yet included in the daily.
I tried the fix building FC from last upstream master and it works for me...
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11978
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:16 pm

vocx
Posts: 4637
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby vocx » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:43 pm

neophyte1 wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 11:54 pm
...
Unknown command 'Draft_SetWorkingPlaneProxy'
...
This is a non-critical error. I renamed this command to "Draft_WorkingPlaneProxy".

As far as I can tell the patch was merged many days ago, so you have to update your BIM.

Pull request BIM/#40
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.