Arch Grid - Build Arch Window?

A forum dedicated to the Arch module development
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Grid - Build Arch Window?

Postby paullee » Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:48 pm

Yes, got the idea.

It seems i start to think more like a curtain wall usage.... with combination of ArchGrid + Automatic Construction of Window + Addition of Custom Solid. Anyway, currently there seem to be a difference between ArchWindow and ArchWall in treating Addition/Subtraction.

The mechanism by ArchWall which use in Shape in Addition/Subtraction let me do some complicated form experiment some time ago (screenshot below). In ArchWall we have combination of both Automatic + Custom possibility. But if an 'custom' made object is used in ArchWindow Base, it then lost all the 'automatic' function ArchWindow. ...


ARCH WALL

|
|- - Base (wire/sketch...) ---> Automatic Build Wall w/ parameters
|
| - Addition+ If found a (Custom) Shape (otherwise skip) --> Boolen Add (guess) to Base Shape
| e.g. a Custom Solid projecting Head or Sill (by Part, Arch Frame etc.) (or even just by ArchWall)


Currently ARCH WINDOW
|
|- - Base (wire/sketch / ARCH GRID ...) ---> Automatic Build Window w/ parameters
| (by Preset or Base Sketch)
|
| - Addition or Subtraction Skipped

Or
|
|- - Base Custom Shape
| (i.e. Not by Preset or Base Sketch)
|
| - Addition or Subtraction Skipped


Some thought for ARCH WINDOW
|
|- - Base (wire/sketch / ARCH GRID ...) ---> Automatic Build Window w/ parameters
| (by Preset or Base Sketch)
|
| - Addition or Subtraction if no Shape Skipped (similar to current because I use this 'function/loophole' as a 'workaround'
| - Addition or Subtraction found a (2D/Solid) Shape --> Boolen Add (just like ArchWall) to Base Shape
| - Probably these Addition need not be open like a panel/glass, just stationary
| - (? Need .WindowsPart2 and 3 to hold corresponding type (Just Solid or Glass) for these Additions / Subtractions?)
| e.g. a Custom Profile projecting Head or Sill (by Part, Arch Frame etc.)


Hope this make sense.
Screenshot from 2016-12-11 12-56-03.png
Screenshot from 2016-12-11 12-56-03.png (228.71 KiB) Viewed 126 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 9922
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Grid - Build Arch Window?

Postby yorik » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:41 pm

Yes we definitely need to enable additions/subtractions for windows, I agree. But still couldn't solve the base problem: When adding a solid to a window that is made of several solids, to which of the several solids must the added solid be unioned?
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Grid - Build Arch Window?

Postby paullee » Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:08 pm

Hi, maybe just let all Additions be identified as another Frame for start?

It seems current rectangular extrusion works for most cases. Maybe sometime someone want a more fancy profile for the Frame.

'Incorporating' those fancy profile as part of a Window just let managing and move the 'components' together easier. No need to really boolean add to any other window parts.


Or

Currently WindowParts identify and make window component
  • name, type (Frame, Glass Panel or Solid Panel), wires+hinge+opening mode, thickness, offset
For additions, would WindowParts definition be extended to identify them as well?
  • name, type(Frame, Louvre), Wires / Addition [index]+(ignore)+(ignore), (ignore), (ignore)
FC file updated and attached.
Screenshot from 2018-04-02 06-34-23.png
Screenshot from 2018-04-02 06-34-23.png (197.16 KiB) Viewed 79 times
Attachments
Test _ Arch Grid_ ArchFrame_ Arch Window.fcstd
(54.11 KiB) Downloaded 3 times