Wall fails to form using closed dwire

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Dgingrey
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby Dgingrey » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:35 pm

I am experiencing some unusual results when making a wall from a closed dwire shape. Using the multipoint draftwire button I construct a
closed shape and then press the wall button.
Wall from Closed Dwire.PNG
Wall from Closed Dwire.PNG (136.19 KiB) Viewed 481 times
The wall appears in the combo view but not in the 3D view.
When I try the same procedure using an open dwire it works correctly except for the gap.
Wall from Open Dwire.PNG
Wall from Open Dwire.PNG (140.6 KiB) Viewed 481 times
Using a slightly overlapping dwire it seems to work correctly also but if the overlap is to much the wall has a large open space in it.
Wall from overlapped Dwire.PNG
Wall from overlapped Dwire.PNG (141.97 KiB) Viewed 481 times
Has anyone else had this problem?
paullee
Posts: 1312
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby paullee » Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:04 am

Dgingrey wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:35 pm
I am experiencing some unusual results when making a wall from a closed dwire shape. Using the multipoint draftwire button I construct a
closed shape and then press the wall button.Wall from Closed Dwire.PNG
The wall appears in the combo view but not in the 3D view.
When I try the same procedure using an open dwire it works correctly except for the gap.Wall from Open Dwire.PNG
Using a slightly overlapping dwire it seems to work correctly also but if the overlap is to much the wall has a large open space in it.
Wall from overlapped Dwire.PNG
Has anyone else had this problem?
Maybe something related...
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 79#p173635 ArchWall Creation Problem on Sketch

EDIT:
It seem however i have no problem on a closed DWire .... MakeFace option should have been 'False' right? (should be as no face in screenshot.)

Maybe you can share your file.
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 09-07-39.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 09-07-39.png (197.59 KiB) Viewed 471 times
Dgingrey
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby Dgingrey » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:14 am

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13452 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 34633c144de9133c1f9aeb7da783f369cae9bfaf
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

Make Face was set to false. Here is a screen shot of the wall formed when the dwire is open and overlapped too much.
Wall from overlapped too much Dwire.PNG
Wall from overlapped too much Dwire.PNG (146.41 KiB) Viewed 463 times
Also attached is an example of the file using a closed dwire as a basis for the wall.
Attachments
Closed Dwire Wall v17.FCStd
(15.32 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
paullee
Posts: 1312
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby paullee » Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:09 pm

Dgingrey wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:14 am
Make Face was set to false. Here is a screen shot of the wall formed when the dwire is open and overlapped too much.Wall from overlapped too much Dwire.PNG
Also attached is an example of the file using a closed dwire as a basis for the wall.
Some thoughts:-
  1. DraftWire has some bug - see screenshot. See if Yorik (creator of Arch + Draft WB to my understanding) may help.

    - I copy the Wire and offset it, 1 point seem Stick to Origin :!: :?:
    - I edit Wire and move a point, the wire do not move :!: :?:
    See first 3 pictures below + File. I do not use Draft a lot so I am not acquaint with its function and usage in fact.
    yorik wrote:
  2. ArchWall does not like the way the start and end edge connect in linear manner... ?
    Add, usually you do not need to draw the 'last' edge to close, just click close in Draw Wire diaglog, or select Close...
    ArchWall works afterwards
Hope it helps.
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-04-20.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-04-20.png (210.3 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-04-11.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-04-11.png (228.78 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 19-54-34.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 19-54-34.png (182.52 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-02-15.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-30 20-02-15.png (148.67 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Attachments
Closed Dwire Wall v17__Test.FCStd
(15.57 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
damian
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby damian » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:40 pm

Hi
paullee wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:09 pm
DraftWire has some bug - see screenshot. See if Yorik (creator of Arch + Draft WB to my understanding) may help.

- I copy the Wire and offset it, 1 point seem Stick to Origin :!: :?:
- I edit Wire and move a point, the wire do not move :!: :?:
Talking about Draft Wire, everything seems to work fine here. Please, post your version

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13472 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 7fd1e543febced04e779bda3debb7fbfdee7ffa3
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
paullee
Posts: 1312
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby paullee » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:54 pm

damian wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:40 pm
Hi

Talking about Draft Wire, everything seems to work fine here. Please, post your version
Forgot the info:
Mainly latest AppImage on Fedora

The file / Wire Dgingrey work on has some weird problem, you may try (the file I attached has modified it).


FreeCAD_0.17.13472.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage

OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13472 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 7fd1e543febced04e779bda3debb7fbfdee7ffa3
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/HongKong (en_HK)
damian
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby damian » Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:02 am

Good morning @paulle
paullee wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:54 pm
The file / Wire Dgingrey work on has some weird problem, you may try (the file I attached has modified it).
The tests better with a clean document. Tested the DWire I can confirm you that:

- edit point and the close option of a DWire is working
- the offset of a DWire is working

Please, revisit your workflow with this tools.

I didn't test the walls.

PD: Divide and conquer
Dgingrey
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby Dgingrey » Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:37 pm

After further testing there seems to be a problem with the forming of the dwire.
Wall from Closed Dwire.PNG
Wall from Closed Dwire.PNG (136.19 KiB) Viewed 325 times
I drew the dwire starting at the origin and placed the vertices in a counter clockwise rotation and ended back at the origin which is the
way it appears in the 3D view. Looking at the combo view the end point is at -8yd, 0,0 not 0,0,0 as it was drawn.
When I correct the end point in the combo view to 0,0,0 the 3D view changes to this:
Dwire with corrected end point.PNG
Dwire with corrected end point.PNG (75.75 KiB) Viewed 325 times
If I draw the dwire starting at -8 yd,0,0 and ending at -8 yd,0,0 it works correctly and the wall forms as expected.
Dwire started from non origin point.PNG
Dwire started from non origin point.PNG (120.39 KiB) Viewed 325 times
damian
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby damian » Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:11 pm

good evening @Dgingrey and @paulle

To my understanding
Dgingrey wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:37 pm
Looking at the combo view the end point is at -8yd, 0,0 not 0,0,0 as it was drawn.
It's correct. In "End" must appear the last point before "Start"
Dgingrey wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:37 pm
When I correct the end point in the combo view to 0,0,0
Obviously, you can do this and the DWire doesn't break. Simply you have eliminated an edge.
It doesn't seem an appealing proceed

To my memory, there was a function which deals with the 'aligned edges' or 'intermediate vertices'. Perhaps it can not resolve the situations when the two 'aligned edges' are the first and the last edges of the Dwire.
I see that you know the 'right hand' rule.
There is another main rule: 'lower left point'. You follow this rule when
Dgingrey wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:37 pm
If I draw the dwire starting at -8 yd,0,0 and ending at -8 yd,0,0 it works correctly and the wall forms as expected.
Conclusions:
- you can draw your wall
- for me it is not clear that this must be 'solved', or on the contrary, the user must follow some orthodox rules
paullee
Posts: 1312
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Wall fails to form using closed dwire

Postby paullee » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:47 pm

Hi!
damian wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:11 pm
To my understanding
Dgingrey wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:37 pm
Looking at the combo view the end point is at -8yd, 0,0 not 0,0,0 as it was drawn.
It's correct. In "End" must appear the last point before "Start"
Should that 'last point before start be 0,7.33,0? (rather than -8yd, 0,0 or 0,0,0)
damian wrote:
I see that you know the 'right hand' rule.
There is another main rule: 'lower left point'. You follow this rule when
Dgingrey wrote: If I draw the dwire starting at -8 yd,0,0 and ending at -8 yd,0,0 it works correctly and the wall forms as expected.
I do not quite remember where I might have read the FC 'right hand' rule? and more explanation of 'lower left point;\'? Can you help pointing it out?

Thanks!