Rebar tool failure

A forum dedicated to the Arch module development
Joel_graff
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Rebar tool failure

Postby Joel_graff » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:47 pm

Having trouble making the rebar tool work.

I've created a new document and added a wall section in the Arch workbench. I've added the rebar addon and restarted FreeCAD.

No additional rebar options / dropdown appears on the rebar tool button.

Running the rebar tool button gives me this error:

Code: Select all

Please select a base face on a structural object
Please select a base face on a structural object
Running the Python command 'Arch_Rebar' failed:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.17\Mod\Arch\ArchRebar.py", line 145, in Activated
    FreeCADGui.Control.showDialog(ArchComponent.SelectionTaskPanel())

Active task dialog found
Edit: system details:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13509 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 0258808ccb6ba3bd5ea9312f79cd023f1a8671b7
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Joel_graff
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby Joel_graff » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:17 pm

Update:

It appears that FreeCAD may be getting blocked on my network here at work...
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10027
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby yorik » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:40 pm

You need to install the Reinforcement addon.
The error is fixed in git commit 7101d9a89
Joel_graff
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby Joel_graff » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:35 pm

yorik wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:40 pm
You need to install the Reinforcement addon.
The error is fixed in git commit 7101d9a89
I did. It wasn't downloading because our network has issues with git. Sorted it out, though. I'll add an issue to the addon manager for erroneously telling me the addon successfully installed, though.
Joel_graff
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby Joel_graff » Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:40 pm

Hijacking my own thread... but it's still related...

So I've tried building a basic box culvert and doing rebar layouts with the rebar tool.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (73.63 KiB) Viewed 225 times
culvert.FCStd
(26.27 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

I built the box culvert in Part Design using two sketches, the pocket sketch being externally linked to the pad sketch.

I saw it work correctly once... :)
thschrader
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby thschrader » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:11 pm

Joel_graff wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:40 pm
I saw it work correctly once... :)
Now you can see it working correctly twice... :lol:
Transform the body into an arch "structure" object, the rebars love it.
culvert_structure_object.JPG
culvert_structure_object.JPG (79.07 KiB) Viewed 215 times
Joel_graff
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Rebar tool failure

Postby Joel_graff » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:44 pm

thschrader wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:11 pm
Now you can see it working correctly twice... :lol:
Beautiful!

I think I'm going to clone amrit's code and maybe stare at it for a while.

Adapting the rebar tool for this purpose requires some refinements... and at least one new rebar shape.