Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

A forum dedicated to the Arch module development
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby paullee » Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:39 pm

Hi, I have been experimenting for days about this - for what situations the opening created by Window on a Wall is shifted somehow :?:

See 1st 2 screen captures - single out 'problem' as follows.

Workflow resulted in Incorrect Opening Position
  1. Make a rectangular Sketch e.g.
  2. Build a wall out of it
  3. Move / rotate the wall to a position as desirable (Not the underlying sketch)
  4. Make a Window/Door "in the air' say 0,0,0 (learned from Yorik to work better on a few cases)
  5. Move the Win/Door (not the underlying sketch) to the wall as desirable
  6. Add the Win/Door to the Walls as Host (used Host property in Win/Door object)

    Now, the opening is found not in Correct position but always shifted somehow :!:
    EDIT: Quite 'arbitrarily', can't find a regular pattern of the 'shift'...

    I think this workflow is quite 'ordinary', just some sketch, translation ...

    Trying to find 'correct' workflow to avoid the 'bug' with following finding.
Workflow with Correct Opening Position (& Limitation in Workflow?)

See 3rd & 4th screen captures.
  1. Make a rectangular Sketch e.g.
  2. Build a wall out of it
  3. Move / rotate the Underlying Sketch instead of the Wall Object to a position as desirable
  4. Make a Window/Door "in the air' say 0,0,0 (learned from Yorik to work better on a few cases)
  5. Move the Win/Door (not the underlying sketch) to the wall as desirable
  6. Add the Win/Door to the Walls as Host (used Host property in Win/Door object)

    Opening is in correct position!

    So, it seem need to move its underlying Sketch to move Wall? (This 'limitation' does not apply on the Win/Door underlying sketch)
Anybody has a recommended workflow - the 'inconsistency' in behaviour is some how not quite intuitive - I have yet to further test to see if the above 'workaround' works for all scenario.

Thanks for any idea!

Test_ Arch Door Opening_ A1.png
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ A1.png (288.83 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ A2.png
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ A2.png (287.37 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 01.png
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 01.png (333.5 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 02.png
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 02.png (283.77 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Attachments
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 3_ Sketch_ Wall Offseted.fcstd
(14.62 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Last edited by paullee on Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby paullee » Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:41 pm

Maybe also attach this file -

it contain model in 'correct' worflow and correct opening position.
Attachments
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 1.fcstd
(20.47 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby paullee » Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:37 pm

Playing around the rotation of the door object let me realize it should be the 'origin' of the door subtraction volume being calculated at incorrect disposition?

By rotating the door in steps, the 'loci' of the subtraction volume could be traced / imagined.


phpBB [video]



phpBB [video]
Attachments
Test_ Arch Door Opening_ 1a_ This Also Fails.fcstd
(30.85 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
paullee
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby paullee » Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:07 pm

Thickening the wall, then can see the whole subtraction volume...

Interesting ... different in 'length' between a 2mH door and a 1mH window?


Screenshot from 2018-04-23 21-02-53.png
Screenshot from 2018-04-23 21-02-53.png (229.1 KiB) Viewed 272 times
Screenshot from 2018-04-23 21-03-09.png
Screenshot from 2018-04-23 21-03-09.png (241.48 KiB) Viewed 272 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2560
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby Kunda1 » Sun May 06, 2018 10:30 am

@yorik should we open a ticket for this ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 9922
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Window create Wrong Opening Position Bug?

Postby yorik » Mon May 07, 2018 3:03 pm

Okay I could reproduce the problem, indeed there is something wrong in the way the opening is generated:
Screenshot from 2018-05-07 12-01-49.png
Screenshot from 2018-05-07 12-01-49.png (128.81 KiB) Viewed 192 times
Will look into this asap