Adding annotation working?

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
brjhaverkamp
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:14 pm

Adding annotation working?

Postby brjhaverkamp » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:35 pm

Hello all,

Quick question. Is adding an annotation to a drawing working for you right now?
Whatever I try, with the Arch or draft workbench, I can't get it to work.
After adding the text in the textbox and hitting enter, nothing happens. No text object appears in my tree view and no text appears in the drawing.
Tried it on my attic and a clean porject, both under ubuntu and on my windows laptop. This is my ubuntu freecad version information
OS: Ubuntu 18.10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15860 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3b708c7f84b0425076b520e1d95627b20fd75fe0
Python version: 2.7.15+
Qt version: 5.11.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

As I never used the function before I am not 100% certain I am doing it right, But it seems straightforward enough and I tripple-checked Regis video 6:-)
But bare with me if I am completely off.

Kind regards,

Bert
User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby regis » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:42 pm

hit enter twice after you've entered ur text. When you hit enter once, it takes you to the next line as if you have a multi line text. So if you hit enter when it suggests the second line and there is no text, it will validate your text and you should see it somewhere on the tree view.
brjhaverkamp
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby brjhaverkamp » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:02 am

Hi Regis,

That was a simple answer:-) And sure enough, it worked like a charm!
Not the nicest user interface feature of freecad though. An OK button in the task field would be a nicer way.

Thanks,

Bert
User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby regis » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:40 pm

brjhaverkamp wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:02 am
Hi Regis,

That was a simple answer:-) And sure enough, it worked like a charm!
Not the nicest user interface feature of freecad though. An OK button in the task field would be a nicer way.

Thanks,

Bert
Yeah I agree, that same thing sent me on for a loop the first times, took me a while to figure out it out aswell. and agree not the best UI for handling texts atm. But for now i'm afraid we must do with what is.
brjhaverkamp
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby brjhaverkamp » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:16 am

Hi all,

Unfortunately I need to followup on this.
I created some text annotations together with dimesions.
I put those in one group and added this group to a section plane.
Then in turn I put this plane into a techdraw.
The weird thing now is that the dimensions show up correctly, but the text doesn't appear.
Fortunately there is also an text annotation function in tech draw. But still it is a mystery to me why it doesn't appear.
Since it is a bit too big to attach here, I added a link to the file in my nextcloud folder.
https://www.oatfield.nl/nextcloud/index ... e8jx4yN72L

A second point I am scratching my head about is the placement of a shape2Dview. I want to make a tech draw with front, back, left and right views of the attic:
In order to add dimensions I followed the same workflow as with the cross-sections(following Regis video tutorial): Create a shape2Dview, add dimensions there, add those dimensions to the Section plane and make a view of the section plane in the tech draw. I had expected the shape2Dview to be in the same plane as the Section plane, but e.g. my front shape2Dview is on the XY plane instead of the YZ plane. Adding dimensions there doesn't show up in the right place in the tech draw.
What am I missing here? I'm sure I am missing an option here.

In the screenshot below I highlighted the front-view section plane (yellow lines). The Shape2Dview is on the baseplane in front of the model.
Screenshot from 2019-03-17 08-33-50.png
Screenshot from 2019-03-17 08-33-50.png (772.58 KiB) Viewed 354 times
User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby regis » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:09 pm

Can u share ur file?
brjhaverkamp
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: Adding annotation working?

Postby brjhaverkamp » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:14 am

The file is getting to big for direct attachment, so I added a link to it in the original mail.
Here it is again.
https://www.oatfield.nl/nextcloud/index ... RrP4JeMcYH