Wooden Cladding

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mikkomarjamaki
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:10 am

Wooden Cladding

Post by mikkomarjamaki »

Hello,

It is very handy to create different kind of wooden claddings with "Wall" tools "Blocks" property but the only problem is that the "Block Lenght" can't be equal or more than the length of the wall. If you put a bigger value the blocks will disappear. If you put a little smaller value there will unwanted extra lines (see the attached image). Could it be possible to allow bigger values than the wall length?

I know this property is more for brick walls but it would be also great for this.

-Mikko
Attachments
Cladding.png
Cladding.png (228.67 KiB) Viewed 1894 times
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Wooden Cladding

Post by paullee »

Seems a clever use of the feature!

Maybe @regis should check this.
regis wrote:
vocx
Veteran
Posts: 5197
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Wooden Cladding

Post by vocx »

mikkomarjamaki wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:06 pm ... If you put a bigger value the blocks will disappear. If you put a little smaller value there will unwanted extra lines (see the attached image). Could it be possible to allow bigger values than the wall length?
...
The relevant part of the code in ArchWall.py seems to be this.

Code: Select all

                                for edge in self.basewires[0].Edges:
                                    while offset < (edge.Length-obj.Joint.Value):
                                        #print i," Edge ",edge," : ",edge.Length," - ",offset
                                        if offset:
                                            t = edge.tangentAt(offset)
                                            p = t.cross(n)
                                            p.multiply(1.1*obj.Width.Value)
                                            p1 = edge.valueAt(offset).add(p)
                                            p2 = edge.valueAt(offset).add(p.negative())
                                            sh = Part.LineSegment(p1,p2).toShape()
                                            if obj.Joint.Value:
                                                sh = sh.extrude(t.multiply(obj.Joint.Value))
                                            sh = sh.extrude(n)
                                            if i == 0:
                                                cuts1.append(sh)
                                            else:
                                                cuts2.append(sh)
                                        offset += (obj.BlockLength.Value+obj.Joint.Value)
                                    else:
                                        offset -= (edge.Length-obj.Joint.Value)
It seems that the code calculates an offset with the values of BlockLength and Joint, in order to draw the next brick. Some logic could be added to handle the case when obj.BlockLength.Value >= edge.Length (wall length).

Maybe another option "Wood" could be added to display the wood pattern while ignoring all Block options, as the wood would be exactly the length of the wall.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
User avatar
regis
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Wooden Cladding

Post by regis »

Yes this is one method of creating them, but I am afraid for construction documents it wont be really useful. the method I use which be less expedient, but gives wanted results is to simply use the wall tool, each single wall becomes a clad, it can be refined much better, but I have found this method to be expedient when changes are made and provide better quality results.
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13665
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Wooden Cladding

Post by yorik »

Just implemented this in git commit 1555ea829. You can now leave block height or block length to zero, and it displays as vertical or horizontal strips.
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: ArchWall Block - as Curtain Wall

Post by paullee »

Hi, trying to use the block feature to imitate curtain wall by setting it to be transparent (4-side support glass pane) :)

It seem it gives an simple representation.

Somehow, found when the base wire / sketch is complex, the block with joint set to 0 would result in Invalid Shape. Need to set joint to something like 20 to make it works.

Screenshot from 2019-04-19 03-22-14.png
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 03-22-14.png (244.45 KiB) Viewed 1633 times
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 03-21-47.png
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 03-21-47.png (239.13 KiB) Viewed 1633 times
User avatar
bitacovir
Veteran
Posts: 1570
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: ArchWall Block - as Curtain Wall

Post by bitacovir »

paullee wrote: Thu Apr 18, 2019 7:25 pm Hi, trying to use the block feature to imitate curtain wall by setting it to be transparent (4-side support glass pane) :)
Interesting. Could you share the file?
::bitacovir::
==================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

Canal Youtube Grupo Telegram de FreeCAD Español

My personal web site
My GitHub repository
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: ArchWall Block - as Curtain Wall

Post by paullee »

I thought I had ... here it is.

Very simple in fact, just imitation in appearance only.
Attachments
Test _ Arch Wall_ as CurtainWall_ 01.fcstd
(708.53 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
Last edited by paullee on Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: ArchWall Block - as Curtain Wall

Post by paullee »

More problem with this this corner case :)

Some surface do no have 'Block' created correctly
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 11-16-49.png
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 11-16-49.png (272.7 KiB) Viewed 1606 times
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5134
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: ArchWall Block - as Curtain Wall

Post by paullee »

Though not really a 'CurtainWall' construct, could appear quite similar without examining in detail with a close up :)
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 11-37-05.png
Screenshot from 2019-04-19 11-37-05.png (185.93 KiB) Viewed 1601 times
Post Reply