Wall length in Property panel gives a error

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Wall length in Property panel gives a error

Postby yorik » Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:08 pm

Your gif goes too fast, I cant read the error message :D
But I'll try to reproduce this on my side to test...
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Wall length in Property panel gives a error

Postby bitacovir » Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:41 pm

yorik wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:08 pm
Your gif goes too fast, I cant read the error message :D
But I'll try to reproduce this on my side to test...
Sorry. This is the error message:

Exception (Mon Jun 3 15:41:45 2019): Sketch::checkGeoId. GeoId index out range.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\Rafael\Documents\Programs\FreeCAD_0.19.16883_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\Mod\Arch\ArchWall.py", line 760, in onChanged
obj.Base.movePoint(0,2,p2,0)
<class 'Base.FreeCADError'>: Sketch::checkGeoId. GeoId index out range.
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Wall length in Property panel gives a error

Postby yorik » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:40 pm

Ok I tested here, and I can't reproduce the issue...
I can make a wall, change its length, save the file, reopen the file, and still change the length.
Can you maybe attach a file where the length is not editable anymore after reopening?
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Wall length in Property panel gives a error

Postby bitacovir » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:21 am

yorik wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:40 pm
Can you maybe attach a file where the length is not editable anymore after reopening?
Thanks Yorik.
Ok. I deleted all FreeCAD installations and I tested the last FC version. Same problem.
here you are the file
frozenwall.FCStd
(7.64 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16945 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d818a9638424a934bd9da74d187a1af4cb773f05
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Wall length in Property panel gives a error

Postby yorik » Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:14 pm

This is a strange bug. I found out that the points of a sketch cannot be moved programmatically if the sketch hasn't been in edit mode at least once in the session.

However, I could not succeed in doing a quick in-and-out of edit mode programmatically either, it makes FreeCAD crash. I guess entering and exiting sketches edit mode does a lot of additional operations, it's not meant to be triggered that way.

So ATM as a workaround in git commit 385771153 I just added a message to warn the user that they must enter and exit edit mode for the base sketch. I guess that's already something...