Property angle of axes doesn't work

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
DDM
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:06 am

Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby DDM » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:28 pm

Hello,

when I create an axes and try to set the angle to 90° the axes is displayed with an undefined length.

See attached picture....To rotate the axis I have to set the placements properties.

Somebody find out the same problem?

The problem is in FC18 and in FC19.


Thanks,
Marco

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16110 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at upstream/releases/FreeCAD-0-18)
Hash: f7dccfaa909e5b9da26bf50c4a22ccca9bb10c40
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16824 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 81ae5688d48fe9037f431b5cb8e1c9cee07f22b9
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
Attachments
Angle_Axes.png
Angle_Axes.png (99.86 KiB) Viewed 758 times
DDM
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:06 am

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby DDM » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:25 am

Please try the following steps:

1) Create an axes
2) Set the length to 3000mm
3) Set the angle to 45 degrees
4) Draw the dimension of the axis and you see 4242.64mm

The angle changes the length of the axes. With an angle of 90° the length became endless.

I found out another problem. If the angle is 90 or 270 degrees and you change the Bubble Size and the Font Size they aren't updated/displayed correctly in the model....Or maybe the length of the axes is endless and the bubble isn't visible on the screen...

Can you confirm this?

Thanks, Marco

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16110 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at upstream/releases/FreeCAD-0-18)
Hash: f7dccfaa909e5b9da26bf50c4a22ccca9bb10c40
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
mario52
Posts: 3215
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby mario52 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:15 am

hi

comportment normal ; base height 3m

if the angle change the end line go up to height 3m and may seem infinite if the angle is small

AxisArch00.png
AxisArch00.png (11.3 KiB) Viewed 665 times
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
DDM
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:06 am

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby DDM » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:08 pm

Hi @mario52,

Thanks for your test,

which version of FreeCAD are you using?

Marco
FATHI RAMMAH
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby FATHI RAMMAH » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:17 am

hello
i faced this problem too ,the problem is the equation that used to draw the axis and i fixed it for my self ,here is the correct equation

p2 = Vector(dist+l*math.sin(ang),l*math.cos(ang),0)
so now how can you fix it your self:
go to the FreeCAD file /Mod/Arch and open the ArchAxis.py (python file)and look for Class _Axis/def excute() and compare your equation with this one ,and now it's your's ,correct it if want ,leave it if you don't
thank you
Last edited by FATHI RAMMAH on Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Posts: 28842
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:15 am

You may fix it on Github and make a pull request!
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
FATHI RAMMAH
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby FATHI RAMMAH » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:23 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:15 am
You may fix it on Github and make a pull request!
i really like to do that but i'm not familiar with gethub yet ,so if you can fix it on gethub so that would be great .
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8687
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:00 pm

FATHI RAMMAH wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:23 pm
chrisb wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:15 am
You may fix it on Github and make a pull request!
i really like to do that but i'm not familiar with gethub yet ,so if you can fix it on gethub so that would be great .
The community would be happy to help you learn how to use Github. It is worth it and facilitates faster reviewing/testing. There is a a page on the wiki dedicated to this: Github. There is also a thread dedicated to this, I can't seem to recall where... but open a new thread and ask for assistance. ;)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
carlopav
Posts: 1568
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby carlopav » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:01 pm

You can also "propose file change" online by clicking on the pencil on the upper right part of github file viewer on the webpage. That's really simple :) and you don't have to fork or clone the project on your machine. Be careful, it's easy to get addicted! :D
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8687
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Property angle of axes doesn't work

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:52 pm

carlopav wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:01 pm
You can also "propose file change" online by clicking on the pencil on the upper right part of github file viewer on the webpage.
One point to make here, is always create a new branch, and not save to exisiting master branch. This is typical newbie mistake.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features