New Freecad / experienced Revit user questions and workflows on starting out

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dimitar

New Freecad / experienced Revit user questions and workflows on starting out

Post by dimitar »

Hi, first, I would like to introduce myself since I have a feeling that I will be needing your help quite a bit to get up to speed on freecad. I am an architect based in London, who uses Grasshopper/Rhino/Blender/Revit on a daily basis. Because of blender, I've become quite an open source enthusiast (I have a youtube https://www.youtube.com/uhstudio channel on Blender for architectural design).

I have tried to play with freecad a number of times over the last 6+ years, but I never got further than drawing a line and a wall. Then, a few months ago, I went to a 3 day Catia for AEC workshop, where we covered the basics of Catia. The parts/assembly methodology and the way to link assemblies together immediately felt as a much fresher and more dynamic take than the rigidity that Revit offers. After that workshop, I downloaded Freecad again, and it immediately made sense, so I have decided to give it a proper try. I have watched/read quite a few of yorik's blog posts and videos in the process.

Now, I have a conceptual theatre project that I would like to work out in freecad as my test case, so here are are my first series of questions, mostly related to setting out a project in regards to levels:

What's the best way to manage levels? And is there a way to edit the level properties in a worksheet, like height and level name and working plane name?

I have created a new project with the desired number levels I wish to have in the bim workbench via manage/manage project. Now i need to edit the names and the levels, but when i click on manage/manage levels nothing seems to happen. I am using freecad 0.18.