export wavefront obj file: support multi-materials in a window object (arch)

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Nocturnial

export wavefront obj file: support multi-materials in a window object (arch)

Post by Nocturnial »

I know it might be too premature but in the sticky post in the forum it said to post what I'm planning to do before I submit code. I'll probably use the wrong terminology because I'm new to this, feel free to correct me.

At the moment you can export your project as a wavefront obj file and import it to, for example, blender. The python script at the moment doesn't recognize multi-materials when applied to windows and everything gets exported as a single object.

I did some experiments in the python console to figure out how the window object was stored and think I can find the shapes of the individual components (frames, panels, etc..). I was thinking of implementing something along the line of: "If there's a multi-material and the object is a window => export the child shapes separately and find the material in the multi-material".

If that works maybe I can extend it to when there are hinges defined, freecad could then also optionally export it as a separate object/group in the obj format. In that case there are still several manual steps involved. When importing it in your 3d program, you need to parent that (sub)object to an empty axis node and then rotate it if you needed that in an animation. I'm not sure about the usefulness of this feature, but at that point we already have the code to split the window object apart if needed.
vocx
Veteran

Re: export wavefront obj file: support multi-materials in a window object (arch)

Post by vocx »