BIM logical dependencies between model elements, parameterized modeling, georeferencing

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
langk

BIM logical dependencies between model elements, parameterized modeling, georeferencing

Post by langk »

Hello dear Community,

I am currently writing my master thesis in which I'm testing FreeCAD under the aspect of BIM. The following is a bit of a mix of questions and comments. I'm still relatively new to FreeCAD so if there are already answers/forum posts to my comments or sggestions, just tell me :)
Thank you in advance for all your answers!
(Also if this isn't the right forum, I'm sorry)

For my research I modeled a simple house. I'm using the newest version of FreeCAD 0.18.4.

• Is it possible to change the values o1 / o2 and other parameters after creating a window (not the height and width)?
  • Can I easily change the type of a window after creating it? So make an Open1-pane an Open2-pane window without the detour of previously deleting the window and placing a new one? (In Revit, for example, you would simply select the window and change the type. But types are not fixed in that sense except for columns (e.g HEA220), right?)
  • Is there an attribute for walls that indicates whether they are load bearing or non-load bearing? Or, if it doesn't exist, wouldn't that be a useful attribute to add? After all, one of the basic ideas of BIM is that the function of the object can be specified in the object properties. Another food property would be whether that walls are inside or outside…