Create walls from Sketch?

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
_cyclops_

Create walls from Sketch?

Post by _cyclops_ »

Hi,

I'm quite new to FreeCAD. I've been using it on an off for small things. Every time i learn more and every time i'm more impressed by this tool! Every update is great!

I now want to use FreeCAD to draw some details of the house we live in. I'm using the stable version of the software with the BIM workbench.

I've created a sketch, and would like to create walls from all the lines drawn. However, it only partially creates walls. I'm not sure if this is a bug, or if i'm doing something wrong.
The reason i'd like to use the Sketch is that i like drawing in that. It's easy to create good constraints. The line tools in the Arch workbench are a bit more difficult IMHO (i might not be getting them right though!)

Attacheds are a picture of the Sketch, and also of how it looks in the arch workbench, and then also a pic of what happens when i try to create walls.

I'm here to learn, so feel free to tell me that i'm not doing this right!
Attachments
Sketch2.PNG
Sketch2.PNG (167.28 KiB) Viewed 3245 times
Sketch1.PNG
Sketch1.PNG (183.86 KiB) Viewed 3245 times
3dwalls.PNG
3dwalls.PNG (167.98 KiB) Viewed 3245 times
_cyclops_

Re: Create walls from Sketch?

Post by _cyclops_ »

Ok, so i couldn't wait and figured out how the snap works so i've drawn draft lines using the snap tool. I've then selected a few lines and created walls.
The walls are not all the same thickness, so i've selected those groups. I've then also joined them together where possible.