Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:57 pm

here is an original ifc solar panel.
it is moved to the right place with move and rotate. I can save it as fcstd but not export it as ifc. someone has an idea how it could be?

https://www.bimobject.com/de/systovi/product/r-volt_pv
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto vom 2020-07-31 21-56-54.png
Bildschirmfoto vom 2020-07-31 21-56-54.png (37.69 KiB) Viewed 200 times
Electrical_Solar-Panels_Systovi_R-VOLT-On-Top_FR.ifc
(125.46 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
solar-panel.FCStd
(140.37 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10523
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:01 pm

thomas-neemann wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:57 pm
here is an original ifc solar panel.
it is moved to the right place with move and rotate. I can save it as fcstd but not export it as ifc. someone has an idea how it could be?

https://www.bimobject.com/de/systovi/product/r-volt_pv
your FreeCAD file has no object with a Shape.

I imported your ifc ans saved the FreeCAD file once again.

solar-panel_02.FCStd
(211.67 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10523
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:01 pm

Screenshot_20200801_000129.png
Screenshot_20200801_000129.png (109.64 KiB) Viewed 182 times
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:07 am

bernd wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:01 pm
thomas-neemann wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:57 pm
here is an original ifc solar panel.
it is moved to the right place with move and rotate. I can save it as fcstd but not export it as ifc. someone has an idea how it could be?

https://www.bimobject.com/de/systovi/product/r-volt_pv
your FreeCAD file has no object with a Shape.

I imported your ifc ans saved the FreeCAD file once again.


solar-panel_02.FCStd



thanks for the tip. With select all I was able to achieve a quick solution. is it useful if your ifc export import settings are set as standard in Freecad?
paullee
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby paullee » Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:50 am

bernd wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:01 pm
Screenshot_20200801_000129.png
Thanks for the setting :)

Now i see the difference and further testing reveals more problems -

Wall Not Exporting Correctly to IFC
  1. You have Force export as BREP, otherwise not works
  2. So why the wall is not exporting correctly? if not as BREP
  3. I suspect a closed shape wall, i.e. other than a simple or multi-segment open-end wall
Wall Exported as Brep, still has problem in IFC AND importing back to FC
  1. The IFC open in IFC++ looks OK
  2. A closer look seem some faces of the top of wall (2nd screencapture below, right hand side...) look transparent ...
  3. Open / Import back to FC, it seem the 'top faces' of the wall are missing :(
Wall_Test_03.ifc
(8.22 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Wall_ifc_import_Test.FCStd
(19.55 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-35-39.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-35-39.png (116.26 KiB) Viewed 141 times
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-45-52.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-45-52.png (107.91 KiB) Viewed 141 times
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-36-29.png
Screenshot from 2020-08-01 10-36-29.png (216.99 KiB) Viewed 141 times
johnwang
Posts: 420
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby johnwang » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:18 am

thomas-neemann wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 3:44 pm
the drawings do not seem to match reality. here you can see a strong bar.
When the frame factory get the architect's drawing, they will do their way to form the space required.

For the ground floor, say ceiling height is 3000mm, they will build all frames in 3000mm high. These will be erected on the slab. When this is done, they put the floor (usually 300mm high) on top of that and form the platform for first floor. All frames under floor are load bearing walls.

When the floor is done, it's just like you got the slab plane, you could start to erect your first floor now. First floor ceiling height maybe 2700mm high. When first floor frames are done, you could cover it with trusses or rafters. With rafter, some walls have changed height, it is called a raker. For first floor, external walls are load bearing walls, internal walls could be load bearing walls, but best be supported under the floor directly.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:57 am

johnwang wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:18 am
pimg


yes, that's a good suggestion for our approach.
everyone who wants to construct something predicts what he wants to do, so that is the order.
the geometric data of the ifc files have a higher priority than that of the pdf file.
it is the same in reality. in this project, the pdf file replaces people's inspiration.
paullee
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby paullee » Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:12 am

johnwang wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:18 am

When the frame factory get the architect's drawing, they will do their way to form the space required.
Seems it depends on what kind of buildings and the local .statutory requirements. Probably a structural engineer .is to design the structural frame. Somebody has to do the calculation to make sure it is stable and safe in any rate.
johnwang
Posts: 420
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby johnwang » Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:23 am

paullee wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:12 am

Somebody has to do the calculation to make sure it is stable and safe in any rate.
There are two set of drawings. One architecture, one engineering.

For contractor, You try to meet these two. But still can change a Little bit. Engineer sometimes only give general specification and sometimes it just not achieviable.

There is industry software to do this. Haven't seen a free one.
Last edited by johnwang on Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:26 am

johnwang wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:23 am
paullee wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:12 am

Somebody has to do the calculation to make sure it is stable and safe in any rate.
There is industry software to do this. Haven't seen a free one.

can freecad fem do that?